We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Guatemala Experience”
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D'Leyenda Hotel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After many trips to Antigua, was so happy to find this little jewel. Restored just two years ago, this little hotel is a real taste of Guatemala hospitality and comfort. The staff is top notch (everyone is taking English classes) and looking for ways to make your stay perfect. Great location and great security. I could have comfortably slept with my room unlocked. Booked it because I say my friend Jennifer Hartsel had recommended it. Thanks Jenn! It was perfect for Michelle & me. Great room, breakfast on the roof terrace, great staff. Book it if you can!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked nice. We were in room 1 w/two queen beds, fireplace and sufficient room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Gerente at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your comment, it is nice to read it because that makes us get better every day, to make you feel in your own home and we hope to have you back with us again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 450 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We strayed for 2 nights at "el Cadejo" room and it was amazing. The location is great, diagonal to the central park. We arrevied early ando our roon of course wasn´t ready, but they kept our luggage in a secure roon, so we could go for a walk en the meantime. When we arrived, they took our liggage out of where they had kept it and gave us the roon key, and it was little, yet spacious, with a lot of little details.
The staff is very sweet, they give a high quality service. The doors of the hotel colses al 9 pm, but if you want to stay out until later, there is no problem, just ring the bell and they will open.
The best part, breakfast in the rooftop, so romantic!!!!
If I return to Antigua I an goint to stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pekisiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We came down for the weekend and had a great experience with this hotel.
They were flexible with our schedule which was awesome and why I give it the five stars. We stayed in room #6 which did not have as good ventilation as the other rooms because the "window" goes to their utility room and not the courtyard. I would recommend avoiding this room if you can. They gave us a portable air conditioner and the last night they set up a dehumidifier, which helped a lot. They were not as helpful with planning tours, trips, things to do, etc. as I had hoped (it was a very last minute trip and we had no idea what we were planning to do), but the hotel is so central that there were other places that helped us out.
Other than those very minor things, I will reiterate what you see in other reviews... Very nice, helpful staff, 24 hour reception (felt very safe), lovely little breakfast (fruit, bread, coffee, OJ), lovely terrace that made the whole stay worth it, packed a to-go breakfast for one of our early mornings, water bottles in the rooms, very centrally located, did not try the Jacuzzi but looked nice, straightforward about our bill (we paid in US$, I read one review where they had an issue with extra fees...) and to sum it up, we would definitely go back and stay with them.
Just remember there is a bar/restaurant next door (noise level decreased by 1030/11) and they have no local or international phones in the room (we had our smart phones and their free wifi worked pretty well for Skype, etc.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almaxwell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in Antigua only one night, and D'Leyenda was perfect for this. The hotel was small and intimate, with only six rooms, but well decorated and styled. The location is perfect - not even one block from central park, and next door to a set of nice bars/ restaurants that never got too loud. The lady at the front desk was very helpful with all of our questions-

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent one night at the hotel in between stops at Guatemala City and Chichicastenango. The service was super friendly and the rooms perfect for our needs. The hotel was also ideally located near the center of town and close to markets. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and relatively quiet. We had two fans that made even August comfortable. We had access to breakfast on the roof since the weather was clear and enjoyed every bite. We would highly recommend this reasonably priced hotel when visiting Antigua.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Friends:

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us during your time in Antigua. We are really happy that you enjoyed it!! Your words give us the strenght we need to keep on working and give our guest what they deserve...only the best service.

Best regards from

D'Leyenda Hotel Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, next to the main center park. The staff are friendly and attentive, each room is themed with an antigua tale our was the "Llorona" room and comfy beds, the hotel is small and it only has 6 rooms, the hotel provides breakfast out on the little court yard, there is a jacuzzi upstairs along with the most beautiful view of the Water Volcano, I would definetely go back and stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As earlier reviews state... Clean, comfortable, great staff, great location, breakfast on the terrace with a wonderful view, and jacuzzi with the same. Room 3 is the catch here. And any issues you may have will be professionally, adeptly and pleasantly dealt with by staff (who are the best asset here, which says a lot). My 12 year old daughter called it home and that speaks wonders.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best choice for couples and a wonderful room. Rooms in general run small, so if u nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigwavejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 75 in Antigua
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#43 of 75 in Antigua
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#25 of 75 in Antigua
263 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#37 of 75 in Antigua
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 75 in Antigua
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $73 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Leyenda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing