We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & accommodations”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Enterprise, AL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service & accommodations”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived late to the hotel during a down pour in May. It was our last night in Guatemala and that day my wife had her wallet stolen traveling the country side. Needless to say we were stressed out, but the ownership went out of their way to help us. He helped us with our bags and had an umbrella waiting, opened the kitchen even though it had closed 10 minutes prior to our arrival and only charged us half of the normal rate to use the phone while canceling our credit card. The accommodations were great. Their are not many rooms and this makes the hotel very peaceful and quite. Views in the courtyard mimic the rustic relics of bigger hotels in Antigua, but with a quarter of the size. We will definitely be back to Hotel Cirilo!

Room Tip: Not sure if every room has one, but our room had a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mp_max07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
229
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place is a little out of the way, which can be good or bad depending on your objectives in Antigua. The rooms had fireplaces and they are very charming. You can order room service with a bottle (or two) of wine for a reasonable price. The gardened grounds are in a ruined church, which is very picturesque. It is quiet and away from the Antigua party scene. Please don't bring your kids, they will ruin the atmosphere. Thanks! The breakfast is very nice. The staff is the best!

Room Tip: Room #7 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersonWhoEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 4 days in Antigua, staying at the Hotel Cirilo.

We booked it based on the reviews and gorgeous photos, and it 100% lived up to all of our expectations. The hotel itself is truly beautiful - built among the ruins of a church, and with carefully manicured gardens and public areas it is truly an oasis once you enter the gates.

We were staying in Room #7, which is the largest room and has a beautiful fireplace and loft area as well as a large section of the actual ruins acting as one of the room's walls. It was one of the most unique and romantic hotel rooms we have ever stayed in.

The hotel is located just a little away form the center of town, which is perfect for guests who like to walk and explore cities on their own. To get to central park was about 15 minutes each way, which was perfect for walking up an appetite, or walking off one's dessert.

Breakfast was included every morning and we also chose to eat a couple of dinners at the hotel, the menu was simple, delicious and incredible good value, and the service from the staff at Cirilo was impeccable.

Most notably the hotel manager - Oscar - made the stay truly special. Nothing was too hard, and every request was met with enthusiasm and generosity. Oscar went above and beyond to make our stay (and our planning before our stay) seamless and special - even organizing a last minute candle-lit birthday dinner at the hotel when a restaurant in Antigua closed unexpectedly. Often when we travel it is the people that make or break the stay and in this case Oscar truly made Cirilo even more special than you would imagine from just the photos and setting.

Overall, this was an incredibly relaxing and rejuvenating week for us in a truly unique and beautiful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: I think room #7 is beautiful (fireplace and loft area) and room #6 is also lovely and well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbsolutelyNoBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two days (one night) but I would have stayed here longer!

Quick note...my wife plans everything so I always go into our vacations with little to no knowledge of where we're staying or what activities she has planned.

This place is a diamond in the rough! The entrance seemed a bit sketchy being that it was in an alleyway. Once we were buzzed in, I was even more skeptical as we were surrounded by block walls and a few random parking spaces. Once we turned the corner and saw the actual interior of the hotel, my jaw dropped. The grounds are well kept and the garden and pool are simply beautiful!

Oscar was the manager in charge and he was quite a charming lad with an intriguing back story. Take time to chat with him as he has a strong knowledge of the town, people and culture.

We ran into an altercation with a tuk-tuk driver and he came out and handled the situation immediately.

We ate our meals in town, but did have the opportunity to try their breakfast and it was tasty!

I would highly recommend staying here if you plan on visiting Antigua!

If you have never been before and would like to see just how amazing Guatemala is, please enjoy the video we filmed while in the area!

http://youtu.be/9KlCacLtp1Y

Enjoy!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Cirilo is beautiful. The grounds are tranquil and a perfect blend of manicured gardens and ancient ruins. The rooms are big with high ceilings and decorated with an eclectic style that suits the surroundings. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was a little hard to find as the address is a bit deceiving ( the numbers on that street are not consecutive )
Would love to return!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Let me start off by saying the service here is outstanding. We arrived late and we were greated with a nice note from Oscar apologizing he could not be there in person to greet us! I have never seen such a gesture in any hotel. He met us the next morning with smiles. He is super cool and kind. Second, Ricardo, the owner, offered us a lift to the restaurant for dinner and made reservations for us the next night. They did an incredible job with the design of the hotel and incorporating it into the monastery. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I don't know why anyone would want to stay anywhere else in antigua. Do not be discouraged by the 10 min walk to the center of town..it's much more peaceful to stay at cirilo.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ashanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

There is a reason why this hotel is the number one place to stay in Antigua. Everything is amazing! We stayed here only for one night and fell in love with the place.

First of all, the service. We arrived early (8 am) on a Sunday, several hours before regular check in time. Because our room was not available yet and we had a lot of bags we didn't want to carry around with us in Antigua, Oscar (manager) graciously offered us a free room upgrade to a master suite so we could leave our bags locked safely in our room for the day. Oscar invited us for coffee and we really enjoyed chatting with him and getting to know the history of this place. Super nice guy! He gave us a map of the town and provided many suggestions of place to go for lunch and dinner.

Now the hotel itself is really special. It was built around ruins of an old monastery, and needless to say, the energy of this place was just indescribable. There was this serenity you could fee the minute you entered the hotel - similar to what you feel when you enter an old church/temple. It was peaceful and relaxing. The room was incredibly spacious, quiet and comfortable. The bed was awesome. We slept like rocks that night.

The setting of the hotel is gorgeous. They did a fantastic job with building this small boutique hotel around old ruins surrounded by with beautiful gardens and flowers everywhere. If we had more than just one day in Antigua, we would have loved to just sit outside on the grass and enjoy the scenery and tranquility of this place. Yes, it is 15-20 min walking distance to the busy downtown area - but this is one of the reasons we picked this place. It felt like we were in a monastery up in the mountains somewhere far away from civilization. We enjoyed the walk. We passed many cool stores and ruins along the way and never felt unsafe.

Lastly, the breakfast. Probably one of the most generous and delicious (free) hotel breakfasts we have ever had. We were amazed at the breakfast choices we had. It was like a 3-4 course breakfast experience, which included this delicious Guatemalan coffee. The local freshly baked banana bread was one of the highlight for us. We liked it so much we went to the bakery and bought two loafs of it to bring back to the U.S. Amazing. 5 starts. Cannot think of a single complaint or constructive criticism to provide. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing