We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Central America”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cirilo during October this year. We live in Costa Rica so we are used to the Central American norm. Cirilo exceeded all of our expectations. Food was good. Staff was friendly and helpful...even preparing a take-away breakfast for us at 4AM! Grounds and the hotel itself are beautiful. We always felt secure. Recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProvenPerformerCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Cirilo. Built right into a ruin
the grounds are astonishing.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. ALl the staff are
friendly and helpful.

Twice we ate breakfast here. We had fruit with granola and
omelletes. The food was also very very good.

All around we couldn{t have asked for a better accomodation.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Cirilo. Ricardo and his staff are amazing and offer a very personalized service. We strongly recommend staying in this beautiful hotel. They arrange for every single detail and even prepare our lunches to climb the Acatenango volcano at 5am!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jinprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Cirilo. The hotel is well-designed and intimate - a welcoming oasis in Antigua. The level of service was very high and the hotel manager, Ricardo, was especially helpful. We were reluctant to leave at the end of our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can only add to the praise of the many reviewers who have had a happy stay at Hotel Cirilo. The reality is even better and more seducing than the photos. You feel like staying in a large country house smartly built into the ruins of an old chapel. Everything is impeccably kept from the rooms with working fireplaces to the lovely gardens. The Guatemaltecan breakfast is sumptuious and delicious and the price is reasonable. The hotel is in a quiet street, so that you are away from the noisy centre without beeing too far away. A short ride in a tuk tuk will bring you to all the sites and events lively and pitturesque Antigua has to offer. The best of all is the attentive staff who is always keen to help you in very way.

Room Tip: We stayed at room no. 4 with a twin bed facing the gardens, but every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If I could give more stars I would. This hotel is very beautiful, but the best part of my stay was the people that work here. Everyone is so friendly and ready to make your stay a fantastic one. I have stayed in all kind of hotels before, but I must say that the customer service at El Cirilo has been by far the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paoedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Many people would love this hotel. The grounds are spectacular, on an old ruin and beautifully kept. It's peaceful and quiet, the rooms are spacious, the breakfast (included) was exceptional, and the woman at the front desk is quite nice and speaks perfect English. So why was the Hotel Cirilo not for us? Several reasons. It felt somewhat sterile, with little personality. It's removed from town, about a fifteen minute walk that is both relatively uninteresting and, at night, felt slightly unsafe (though, given that it's Antigua, is still probably much safer than most American towns.) And, our room was dark. We asked for another lamp (happily given) but still had trouble reading at night -- something I don't think I'd ever experienced at another hotel. In the end, we decided to move to a hotel closer to town, which was more in keeping with our travel sensibilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigTrainSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Hotel Antigua
Good Hotel Antigua
#8 of 75 in Antigua
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#9 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $126 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing