We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a private home”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
lb,il
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Like staying in a private home”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the street you would never guess what a beautiful oasis of calm exists on the other side of the wall. Rooms are large and the hotel is architecturally interesting.The garden is lovely as well. Management couldn't be more helpful. The very reasonable room rates include an excellent breakfast. It seems to attract visitors who are there to enjoy the quiet atmosphere. It is a15-20 minute walk from the downtown area which is fine in daylight. We cabbed it after dark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
229
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terra Linda, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Antigua is beautiful and Hotel Cirilo is an exceptional value. Built into ruins, the property is straight out of Architectural Digest. It is a jaw dropper. Details like preparing me a special breakfast to-go because my flight was early in the morning before the restaurant opened make this property 5 star.
The pool was way to cold to swim in but it is so artfully done, we didn't even care. There was blaring music and fireworks in the middle of the night that disrupted our sleep. While the hotel is not at fault, it affected my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just returned from five days in Antigua Guatemala and our stay at the Hotel Cirilo will be one we always remember. This place is VERY unique. We have been in many countries, but have never stayed in a ruined church before. We stayed in Room 6 and found it to be quiet, spacious and everything we were looking for. The management are all very accommodating, and even changed some money for us the day before we left, when we just needed a little (bank minimum was $100).
Food was great! The only drawback was the cobblestone streets are murder on your feet! Take hiking shoes.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 are at the end of the hall, but this place is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful place, wonderful staff, Ricardo drove us in his own car to the town on the first night to eat. This was our honeymoon, we stayed for 3 nights before going to lake Atittlan and I most definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BatoulandAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Cirilo, it's a very quiet, beautiful, aesthetic hotel. We enjoyed every minute during our stay. Staffs are very helpful with all of our request, including travel arrangement. By the way, the bed is very very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PingHoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Integrated with the city ruins, the Cirilo is perfectly built with a beautiful garden, a heated pool and spacious, charming rooms. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is delicious. It is a little distant, though, a 15 minute walk to the main square, but definitely worth the experience! Great place to stay in Antigua!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marcia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the final part of our honeymoon and it was the most amazing experience. The 2 managers are so so kind and go out of their way to help you! We left at 4:30AM to go to the airport and the manager had left sandwiches and water for us to take as breakfast. The breakfast is included and delicious and the rooms are great. We had one with a fire place which made it very romantic.
I could not recommend more highly to go to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanymisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing