We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here in September 2011 whilst attending daily Spanish classes in town. Everything about this hotel is amazing. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The breakfasts are yummy and huge with a great choice including fresh fruit and banana bread, and I actually had a number of my dinners here too as the food was delicious. Ricardo and his staff really go out of their way to help. For example, I had an early morning pick-up for a day trip to the volcano, and the kitchen staff prepared me a packed breakfast to take with me. The walk into town is pleasant, and it's good to be away from the noise and chaos of the centre of town. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank padmasayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
218
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Hotel is really magic it is built on some ruins, the rooms are super comfortable. The excellent good taste of the owner to take care of every detail is seen every place in the Hotel. The garden is wonderful with a very original pool never seen in any other place between rocks and ruins. This is a great choice in Antigua if you are looking for tranquility and beauty! Stay at this place is a must in Antigua!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomas de Tzununá
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is even more beautiful than the pictures, and I highly recommend staying here. The ruins and gardens and pool are gorgeous, and the grounds offer a wonderful place to relax and read a good book. The design of the rest of the property is lovely too, and every little detail is well conceived -- our favorite decor detail was the dining room tables that recycle old Singer sewing machines on the bottom and have marble tops.

Our huge room was lovely--we stayed in room #7--and it's built into the walls of the ruins, and has high ceilings, 2 floors, a working fireplace, and a spacious bathroom. The bed was really comfortable too, and we slept exceptionally well all 4 nights. Highly recommend.

The breakfast was our favorite in Guatemala, and this says a lot since we enjoyed the breakfast at all the hotels during our Guatemala vacation. We loved the coffee so much that Ricardo showed us where we can buy the same one as gifts for friends to take home.

While we loved this hotel's decor, it's the service that truly differentiates the Cirilo from its peers. Ricardo, Lucky, and the rest of the Cirilo staff were gracious and thoughtful and always offered personalized service. They looked out for every little detail of our stay--marked every single Antigua coffee shop of note on a map--and helped us pick the best restaurant reservations and made sure our dog was allowed too. Ricardo even personally drove us into the city center for our dinners since it was high season and he suspected a taxi would be delayed.

While the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the city center, it's totally safe and pretty and you pass some of the best antigue stores along the way that you'd miss if you were staying within the old town. You can also take a tuk tuk for $2-3 and then it takes 5 minutes to get to parque central.

Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Room #7 is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, SF, Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My bf and I stayed only one night. Wish we stayed longer. It was a lovely hotel with a BEAUTIFUL garden/pool. Staff/host was very attentive. They even packed us breakfast to eat in the shuttle ride leaving the hotel next morning. It's a bit of a walk from the center of town but the weather is always nice, so just enjoy the walk back!
~S, NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank three_chicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place was Perfect. Everyone there was so Accommodating, Location was quiet and beautiful......a bit far to walk to center of town though. I would absolutely go back and would recommend this to others!! Thank you for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I can't praise enough of this facility. The hotel is built on the remnance of a 1700 century church. Part of the staircase is still visible and the grounds are impeccable with beautiful orchids and many varieties of faunas. Our host Ricardo was accommodating in all our needs and even offered to drive us to the bank to exchange our money. The hotel serves excellent complimentary breakfast and we even enjoyed a private luncheon when friends came to visit. You feel as though you were being pampered in every aspects and we are looking forward to another visit at Hotel Cirilo for our next trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherryl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been many places and this hotel ranks right near the top of all the places I have stayed. The setting is tranquil and the rooms are spectacular incorporating the ruins into the rooms and the courtyard itself. If this wasn't enough, the owner was very helpful and was able to assist with my many questions. I honestly at times didn't want to leave the hotel as it was that special of a feeling.

Room Tip: Room #7 where I stayed is probably the best as you have two floors and a fireplace incorporating the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madtaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
13.8 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#5 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#10 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing