We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet setting amidst the ruins!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cirilo to your Saves list
Hotel Cirilo
Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
135 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great, quiet setting amidst the ruins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This seven room hotel is perfectly build around the ruins of an old church. The owners did a fabulous job transitioning from the ruins to the newly build common space and rooms, resulting in the sense you are staying in the ruins themselves. We thought the atmosphere was better than some of the sights around Antigua that we actually paid admission to enter. Although the location is a bit removed from central Antigua, the quiet and tranquility is more than worth the walk or tuktuk ride. The service was great, we ate a light dinner one night when we didn't feel like getting out and it was delicious. We would absolutely stay here again if we are lucky enough to visit Antigua in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
202
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just finished a trip to Guatemala where we stayed at the Cirilo on two different occasions. Everything about the hotel is quality from the rooms to the service. It was a real treat to experience Cirilo and meet the team there. In a bind, we were able to turn to them to help us organize a day hike/transportation when OX Outdoor Excursions failed to show up for our hike. By 8am everything was set up.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've been to Antigua numerous times and I love it when I have the opportunity to stay at Hotel Cirilo! They are friendly, helpful and the place is immaculate. Great place to relax after a busy week! The pool is too cold for me but is a great place to read and hangout in the morning with a coffee. The areas around the room can be a bit echo-y and noisy because of the concrete walls but since it isn't a big hotel, people are generally respectful and I haven't experience any issues except by the reception/kitchen area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad4missions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Cirilo in next to the ruins of an old chapel and in the midst of beautiful gardens. The decor is modern with an Asian touch. The rooms are spacious maybe a little dark in my opinion and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are OK.
The staff is attentive and very courteous. Breakfast is included and you will have several options to choose from, all very good.
Only drawback (and this depends on you): the hotel is a bit away from the center (20-25 min. walking) in a very quiet street. Although Antigua is a very safe city, if you return late at night I would suggest you better take a taxi.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in late June and it was fantastic. A wonderful getaway. The hosts are extremely nice and helpful. It was pouring rain one night and Ricardo offered to drive us to dinner, which he didn't need to do, but that's how you get repeat customers. Overall, it's clean, unique, quiet(stayed in corner room 6), and the food is really good. Will definitely return for a stay!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night, enough to say that this is the place to stay. Beautiful garden, classic rooms and a very, very, very friendly attendance. Worth what you are paying for and a little more. I would defintely choose this place again in a heartbeat. As for food, just had breakfast and it was more than what I was expecting, very good!
I asked for a special arrangement of the room for a romantic evening and they fixed the place incredibly.
I recommend room 6. Chimeney in every room!!
Distance from central park is not as close as other hotels but the town is not that big anyways. Did not bother me at all. If you have a car it won't be a problem at all, if you don't try to catch a tuktuk if you are coming back late at night. Walking dsitance is about 15-20 mins from central park.

Thanx tor everything Lucky :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertoElvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We selected the hotel because of the reviews and it was even better than expected. The hotel and grounds are simply beautiful. The setting is serene. Flori and Cesar were so very helpful and all the staff friendly and engaged. Clearly they enjoy working there and it is reflected in the atmosphere. A very positive place.
The distance from the town center was an asset for us. We returned each night to our oasis. And when we were ready for diner, Flori called us a tuk-tuk.
We stayed in room 6. There are two chairs in the room. I would have liked to have a table between them. We loved have a fire each night. How romantic!
We intend to return to Antiqua and without a doubt, Hotel Cirilo will be our base. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in that charming colonial city.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms. There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PashminaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
13.8 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#4 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing