We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”

El Frijol Feliz Cooking School
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hands-on Cooking Class in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Take home the rich culture of Guatemala by learning how to prepare the local cuisine at Antigua's premier cooking school! Begin with a personalized, hands-on class with local chefs and then enjoy your meal in our beautiful dining room or patio. Spanish to English translators are provided, and complimentary wine, beer, or soda are served during the class.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Boquete, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Small group, hands on experience. We cooked a full traditional Guatemalan dish. Fun environment and food was excellent. Unfortunately the instructor only spoke Spanish, moved very quickly and did not provide hand-outs for the items we cooked. Some recipes are on their website but others are not.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FLCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    26
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent cultural activity & you get to eat the result!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband arranged for us to cook Guatemalan cuisine for a birthday surprise and it was fantastic!

There was only the two of us & our Guatemalan chef. Despite not knowing much Spanish and her not speaking English, everything in the kitchen went well. My husband had already chosen a menu and we cooked chicken pepian - a meat stew traditionally cooked for celebrations, rice & vege fritters, guacamole (the most amazing recipe!), tortillas and plantain mole.

The cooking took around 2-3 hours and the hardest part was mastering the art of tortilla making (it is not as easy as you may think!) You then get to enjoy your meal; we gave it a good go but were unable to eat all the food we had cooked.

Luis (the owner) was a superb host as well. He greeted us with fresh coffee when we arrived & was on hand to see how we were going with our class. He had also arranged a birthday cake, which was an additional surprise and a very thoughtful touch.

If you are looking for something interesting to do in Antigua & especially if you like food, book a class.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cooking, Culture, and New Friends”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Although we had booked wrll in advance, we met two other couples who signed up only the day before. Before cooking, we went to the big open market to buy some things. Very interesting and entertaining. Cooking was fun and I think we all ended up tasting things we had not before. Finally, eating with our new friends was a lovely way to cap off the day. The whole thing lasted, for us, from 1:30 to 7:00 and the time flew by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“El Frijoles Feliz Cooking School, Antigua, Guatemala”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter & I spent a fun morning, along with other interesting travellers, learning to cook some wonderful Guatemalan dishes. It was hands-on, with everyone participating in a group effort to make a wonderful meal which we then shared at the end. The owner was very engaging, and our chef was delightful. We would highly recommend taking a class here (and no need to be timid about not speaking Spanish, because cooking is an international language!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 53Charlotte87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Learn Spanish and Cook!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family took a cooking class here. It was really yummy. We appreciated that they worked with us to create a menu that would accommodate our daughter's peanut and tree nut allergy. Everything tasted fantastic - now that we're back home, we plan to test drive what we learned!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Frijol Feliz Cooking School also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Frijol Feliz Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing