We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for family trip to Antigua”
other travelers have booked this property
Wonderful shot of our home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderful shot of our home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Wonderful shot of our home.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michelle...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house for family trip to Antigua”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This little gated community was perfect for our big family to get away from the city even though it's walking distance from everything. We loved the location, the guard outside the gate, the fact that it had parking and spent both nights in the pool and hot tub. The beds were comfortable and even though the internet was a little spotty we very much enjoyed this beautiful, very clean, very safe house in what we thought was the perfect location. We are already talking about coming back! We also LOVE that every room had it's own bathroom and shower- really helps when 8 people are trying to get ready at the same time.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveW_in...
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodgings near the heart of Antigua, Guatemala”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Santa Catarina and Casa Santa Cruz during our recent visit to Antigua, Guatemala. We had two families travelling together during our stay and between us (16 people), we rented three of the four houses that surround the pool and hot tub in the courtyard. The two houses that I rented were spacious, had nice furnishings and were very convenient to the meetings that we were attending at the nearby Cesar Branas complex (only two blocks away).

The decor in each house is rustic, but complements the overall look and feel of the town very well. Casa Santa Catarina is a four bedroom house and Casa Santa Cruz is a three bedroom house. Each house has one bedroom downstairs and either two or three bedrooms upstairs. In addition to the master bedroom downstairs, there is a spacious living/dining area and a nice sized kitchen. There are no closets in any of the bedrooms, just a small wardrobe.

The owner of the houses and the property manager were both very helpful and quick to answer any and all questions that we had about the property or the nearby area. Booking was very simple as was making the deposit and final payment. The kitchen is more than functional to do any necessary cooking while staying at the house.

The houses don't have air conditioning, but it never became too uncomfortable in either house during the day. You can ask to have the skylights opened so that the air will circulate better, if needed. At night the temperature drops to a very comfortable level for sleeping.

There is a grocery store (La Bodegona) about 4 blocks away that has just about anything you would need to purchase. There are also lots of very good restaurants within easy walking distance, 4-6 blocks from the location of the houses. If you have never been to Antigua before, do be aware that all the roads are cobblestone. This makes for uneven walking and slows you down just a bit compared to paved roads.

Maid service is included in the cost of the houses and the ladies were very friendly and helpful. In addition to the standard house cleaning, they also would wash dishes for us and do laundry if needed. There is a washer and dryer in each house.

It isn't recommended to drink or brush your teeth with the tap water if you are not a native Guatemalan. Thankfully, there is a 5 gallon purified water bottle in each house. Once the initial bottle has been used, you have it refilled for a nominal fee, which was very convenient.

The entire complex where the houses are located is inside a gated community. The guards at the gate were always very friendly whenever we passed through, whether walking or by vehicle.

If we have the opportunity to return back to Antigua again in the future, I would not hesitate at all to re-book our stay at either house. The amenities, location and price for the houses we rented during our stay were all excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large homes in a private and secluded part of Antigua.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattBelli...
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Antigua!”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time, lovely spacious condo with great, friendly staff. Will stay again and recommend it to friends. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of room, and great location.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primemini...
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Fantastic Antigua Lodging”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house is beautiful and relaxing. The Casa de Philipa is immaculate, and they have excellent staff nearby to take care of any needs you might have. It's well located and has everything you'll need for a great stay!
We'll be booking it for next year, soon!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xiwanm
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
“Great place to stay in Antigua”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I spent 3 days in Antigua with my family, and I had a fantastic time. The house is spacious and very well equipped. Philippa was an excellent host and her staff, welcoming and attentive. I highly recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cescapark...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Gem in Antigua”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Philippa has a very organized and trained on site staff that are available for any needs. Everyone in her team was very friendly and helpful. The compound is in a gated community walking distance to everything there is to see/do in Antigua. The houses were very clean and comfortable for everyone.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8781angel...
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place.”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa La Hermita. There was plenty of space for everyone. The master bathroom is by far the nicest one, so most guests used that one to shower. The pool was cute and the hot tub got nice a hot! The only down side was that we had to leave our house and walk around the corner to get back into the pool area. Thanks for having us :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub was nice and hot.
Liked least: The pool wasn't attached to this house, it was just around the corner/block.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing