We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Camino Real Antigua
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Texas, the Lone Star State
Level Contributor
338 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“First Class Luxury”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Camino Real is first class from the moment you step into the lobby. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, and the bathrooms have every possible amenity - plus some you never even thought of. The beds are amazingly soft and comfortable, giving me the best night's sleep I've ever had a hotel. You have to see the breakfast buffet to believe it. Incredible staff, incredible everything! I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Luxury at its finest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you so much for your additional comment about service, personnel and facilities, we really appreciate your feedback.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    182
    32
    7
    17
See reviews for
155
204
26
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We always stay here when we come to Antigua. Staff is excellent, rooms are very big with large, high ceilings. Staff is excellent. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone to stay. Great location to everything.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lovethebeach123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Antigua to attend a destination wedding. The Camino Real is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. The staff is very courteous and willing to help. The hotel itself is gorgeous and although relatively new, fits in beautifully with the other colonial architecture. When you check in you are presented with a frothy ginger green tea concoction which is so delicious we watched them make it so we could enjoy it at home. Beautiful courtyards, antiques, wooden columns ,grottos, flower arrangements abound plus tons of candles. The food is excellent and there is an option to dine outdoors in a lovely garden setting. We just loved staying here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snowprincejuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. We are very glad to know how was your experience in our property.

We hope to see you soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Camino Real Antigua Guatemala is a small hotel with a great team of employees and impeccable landscaping. The food is average but the ambience and service are exceptional. The proximity of the facility to major craft markets and historical buildings is an added advantage.
I enjoyed my stay at this property

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you for your additional comment about our service, we really appreciate this kind of comments.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was my first time at this hotel and I loved it. Very clean and secure location; close to the park so you can walk to the market and everything around it.
Room was very nice; I loved the bed. Staff was very friendly.
The bartender Leonardo is GREAT!!! You must have a drink made by him! In summary I would have to say it is a very nice hotel to stay at in Antigua if you are not looking for a budget hotel because it is not cheap.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in a room near the spa because you will hear everyone there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you for your additional comment about our property, we really appreciate this kind of comments.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We did not stay at the Camino Real but dined there two evenings. Not only was the setting perfect (once on the veranda and the other inside) but the service was first class. We all enjoyed a wonderful filet mignon which was cooked to perfection. The waiters were very friendly and attentive. We had someone celebrating a birthday and they prepared a special presentation for him. If we were to return to Antigua in the future I'm sure we would visit again and enjoy a wonderful evening. Many Thanks to the Staff for making our evenings very special.

Room Tip: We've been traveling to Antigua for 24 years and was there just two years ago and was not aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've stayed at Hotel Camino Real Antigua about 3 or 4 times. While it is a fairly new hotel with a beautiful Spanish style design, every time we stayed there I always wondered why we did not get more from the high room rates it charges - and by extension, if there were similar or better options in Antigua to with a better balance of rates and service to the client. Luckily, there are other better options to stay at the same or lower price if you do more research on other hotel options.

It finally dawn on me that Hotel Camino Real Antigua charges way too much for what it offers, and here are the reasons why:

--While the style is beautiful and the location has a great view of the volcano, there are no additional quality extras options to enjoy resting in the hotel. The gym can hardly be called a proper gym - it is small and has few weights and equipment (just two stationary bikes, one running machine). The swimming pool/jacuzzi is too small and smacked right in the middle of the hotel with guests rooms around it. Thus, there is little privacy or tranquility to read a book. Often the water is not nearly as warm as it should be.

--The hotel does not include breakfast with the room rates. Nearly all hotels in Antigua, even cheaper ones, at least include breakfast with their rates. Beans, eggs and fruit are not that expensive in Guatemala. The least Hotel Camino Real could do for its high rates is include breakfast. I guess they want to suck every penny from the tourists guests that are already paying one of the highest room rates in Antigua.

--The hotel charges for WiFi. Again, for such high room rates, the least it could do if to offer free WiFi access. Again, the hotel seems to really want to squeeze every penny out of its guests.

--Lastly, Hotel Camino Real Antigua goes out of its way to lock guests into staying 3, 4 or 5 minimum nights on special seasons, such as Christmas or Easter. If you only need 1 or two nights - or something less than the minimum, the hotel presses you into taking the minimum 3/4/5 nights package or it won't offer you any rooms. Other hotels in Antigua tend do also do this really unfair tactic in an effort to squeeze dry more dollars/Euros from tourists. Luckily, there are still a few hotels that are flexible and actually behave like hotels -- accommodating to the needs of the guests, rather than the needs of the hotel to make more money while offering less.

We finally had it with Hotel Camino Real Antigua and will not be using it any more. We hope this helps tourists try to find better deals before rushing to settle for Hotel Camino Real Antigua -- there are better options at a lower or the same room rates.

At least the staff at Hotel Camino Real Antigua have always been top notch - very helpful, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Too bad the same thing can't be said for the hotel's owners or managers that are likely the cause for the above.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pepe1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your visit, please accept an apologize for this. We really appreciate guest’s feedback, your comment will help us to improve our service and give to our guest the best in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned already was notified to the responsible department.

Again apologize for this; please any additional comment let us know at coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#20 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Property: Camino Real Antigua
Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Business Hotel in Antigua
#11 Family Hotel in Antigua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing