We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, definitely one of the best in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Camino Real Antigua
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, definitely one of the best in the world!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have traveled all over the world and have staying in all types of hotels. This one is definitely one of the best we have stayed in. It's only 3 years old, so that definitely helps. The rooms are large and spacious with vaulted ceilings. The beds are fantastically comfortable and the bathrooms are exquisite. There are ample desks and chairs along with a mini bar which we stored our water in for the day. Yes, they charge for wi-fi, however, they allowed us to send a quick email home free of charge to let our family know we arrived safely. Great customer service!

The grounds are gorgeous, great for just hanging around and enjoying the afternoon. We enjoyed the hot tub which was warm and large for many people. We did not have anyone with us when ever we were in it and we stayed Fri/Sat/Sun.

The breakfast buffet was awesome, the food was excellent! We had some typical Guatemalan food, then utilized the crepes & waffles station and egg station as well. All was excellent. We also ordered chicken fingers for our 8 year old niece, and they came with fries for only $6. Very reasonably priced! The hotel is just minutes from the center. Definitely go down to Carlos's bar right next door and enjoy some cheap beer and excellent chips and guacamole and frijoles!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the whole hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauran24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    194
    32
    7
    18
See reviews for
167
213
29
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had such a great time here. The grounds are amazing, the rooms are clean, the service is above and beyond. ALSO, the beds are glorious. Better than the bed I have in my home. There are multiple desks in the room, and the showers are HOT! The in-room food is obviously over priced, but we did end up using the bottled water a few times so we were glad it was available.

The jacuzzi is hotter on the weekends than during the week, and they also turn off the fountains during the week. It's a logical thing to do from a business perspective, but be sure to catch the site at least one day on the weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was our first time in Guatemala-- We were at this hotel as part of a wedding group. The price was so reasonable, we were a little concerned about what to expect. Not to worry! We arrived in the evening and were immediately enchanted by the beautiful candle-lit lobby, restaurant and gardens. The room was large with high vaulted ceilings and a little turret in the bath that let the sun or moonlight into the otherwise dark sleepy room. If you are not into partying at the hot tub, it is probably not a good idea to be near it , although the short walk to the lobby was nice. Like some other reviewers, we didn't especially like being charged for coffee and wifi (per device!) but hey, that happens in boring stateside hotels as well. Worth it to be able to check tripadvisor on my ipad for restaurants and activities. Breakfast buffet was great! It was very nice to feel totally safe on this first visit.

Room Tip: Not near the hot tub unless you will be using it. Rooms close to the lobby have a lot of traffic wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I have spent five years living in Guatemala and we've been to this property probably 5 or 6 times in the past year for pleasure while attending social events in Antigua. Thus far, they've gotten it wrong every time. Once they accidentally booked our room at the Westin in Guatemala City. Another time, they lost our reservation. This weekend, we arrived with our reservation confirmation number and they couldn't find our reservation. Upon checkout, they passed us a bill for almost $100 more than what we owed because someone had charged 5 breakfasts to our room (Although we were two guests and had the receipt where we paid cash for our breakfast). It really is a shame because the property is very nice and the rooms are comfortable. Unfortunately, they should consider importing a labor force from another country that actually gets what it means to provide good customer service without so many mistakes. Save yourself the headache and book your reservation somewhere else even if it means you don't get your frequent stay miles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallynorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to the responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I loved the hotel, I was kind of hoping for Guatemalan food at their restaurant buffet, but it wasn't. The reasons why I won't give 5 stars was, why charge for Wifi and coffee in the room? You also have to pay to use their Internet which is a small desk with a desktop outside of check in. Those things were the only things that threw me off about the hotel. It's about the little things.. Also I wish they had a pool. They say they have one, but it's just an oversized jacuzzi. Rooms are very comfortable and I loved the design. Wish you could lock the doors though. Showers are awesome too!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to responsible in order to give you in every visit the better service. Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This Hotel is a hidden jewel in the middle of this romantic old city! I was extremely impressed with the layout. They welcome you during check-in with a glass of champagne or juice of your choice! Superb commodities and service was impeccable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCarlosGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for such a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel beautiful, the beds amazing and the jacuzzi great! But I think the price is a little high for not even have internet for the guest we where surprised that we had to pay $10 just to send and important mail. And something esle was that the little bag of coffe in the room for the coffemaker was $3!! I do have 3 dolars, but is the first hotel I have been in that don't even have some cortesy coffe for the guest!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelgaCarvajalZamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to the right department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Property: Camino Real Antigua
Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Antigua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#11 Family Hotel in Antigua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing