We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average place for an average price.”
Review of Hotel Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Clara
Ranked #83 of 138 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is the type of place you get what you pay for.. Not much to it, quite simple. It does have a daunting entrance, with the timber doors opening up to a nicer venue. The hotel is different. The rooms are quite dark and eery, the bathroom is very basic, but larger than i thought it would be. No in room safe or air conditioner. but that isn't much of a problem, as it is quite safe behind the high brick walls and solid timber gates, and the exposed concrete/brick rendered walls in the room act as a good insulator to keep the heat out.

Not the most inviting place, if you blink you will miss it. Right next door there is a convenience store for you to purchase your snacks drinks or smokes. next door on the other side, you will find a nice bakery which makes a nice coffee, and light snacks for breakfast.

The court yard is also quite small, there is no restaurant in the complex, although walk a few blocks to a lovely place called "Bohemia" and the owner Gabby who speaks english will whip you up a great meal at a great price... very welcoming.. be sure to visit Bohemia for a nice feed.

WiFi is available here. the staff wont greet you with much and will not inform you of much. The staff did not even show us to our room. and we found the WiFi code printed on a card located in the entrance hallway table.

Antigua though is a wonderful city and has many cute shops and the architecture is beautiful. at the end of the street this hotel is on you will see a beautiful tall volcano. an amazing sight. Central park is about 2 blocks from this hotel, which is basically the heart of the town.

In summery, the hotel is very basic, the staff is not the most helpful, it does look dodgy as hell from the outside, but inside it is cute. the rooms don't offer you much and the hotel is over all simple. But for some where to lay your head at night after a busy day exploring the beautiful city of Antigua, all the walking you will do through the magical cobble stone streets admiring some beautiful architecture, and wonderful coloured homes and shops, whilst meeting some lovely people... this place is a good cheap safe hotel to rest.

Safe Travels.

Simon from
Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of Gap tour.

Room wasn't cleaned properly, half bottle of water on the table.

Room is dark and uninviting. Staff is very unhelpful( which is the exception in Antigua).

There is loads of better places in the same price range closer to the main plaza.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cautiousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The formidable old timbered doors mask a very pleasant respite after a days sojourn in the breathtakingly lovely city of Antigua. Our second floor room was compact but lovely with a small balcony looking out over roof tops as the spread at the typical one to two-story height to the city limit, and then had a magnificent backdrop of one of the iconic volcanoes. The room was clean, the common spaces were charming, the hotel was safe, and the location was easily accessible by walking to all areas of the city. There was a great bakery and coffee shop two steps from the front door for a quick breakfast every morning that we didn't walk to one of the full service restaurants in the city square area. We felt it was an amazing value, and definitely provided a non-USA hotel experience that we feel should be part of the traveling experience. In our hotel choices, we look forward to being provided a different experience based on what a local hotelier feels is acceptable for the price charged. These differences, to us, is what helps make the travel experience an opportunity for personal growth. Embracing the nuances of what is offered, rather than enumerating deficiencies compared to some preconceived ideal helps turn every boutique hotel like the Sta. Clara into a true Antiguan joy.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms seem less claustrophobic, but the other rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcvilleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Hotel Santa Clara is close to all that you need it to be in Antigua, but quiet and peaceful as well. The rooms are clean and well furnished, and the hot water was plentiful. It is less than a five minute walk to the Parque Central. The staff was helpful, friendly, and accomodating. I will stay there again on my next visit to Antigua!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank light122376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We initially selected this hotel as a stopover on our trip to Panajachel. We considered it to be a minimal factor in our overall trip. What we found was a wonderfully located, quaint, small hotel run by people who were extremely helpful and friendly. Two of the guests there at the time added immeasurably to the pleasure of the trip. One was a British anthropologist who has been coming to Antigua for 37 years. She was a pleasure to talk with, and provided us with a wealth of information. Another was an artist who was in Antigua doing paintings of Mayan people. The hotel has comfortable rooms with balconies, and a beautiful courtyard. The best coffee I have ever tasted was served at a small bakery two doors down. The price of $51 is a bargain for the value received.

Room Tip: The best room is 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Santa Clara for 6 nights - on our own and then with a GAP Adventure tour. The hotel was nothing fancy but it was perfectly OK and conveniently located. It seemed to be a good value. We had not problems with it. It has Wi Fi, but no computers on site. There are inexpensive internet places not to far away. One could order breakfast the night before but we never did so.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredtraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is small and not luxurious, but clean with clean rooms and a nice small outside courtyard where they serve breakfast. The service is excellent and personal. When we arrived, our bathroom curtain was moldy, and within 5 minutes of notifying the staff, we had new bathroom curtains. The room was kind of cold at night because there wasn't heating, but underneath the blankets we were quite comfortable and had plenty of hot water in the shower. Our room did not face the street, so it was quiet at night. When we had to leave before breakfast time, they prepared an excellent breakfast-to-go for us, and always had fresh delicious fruit for breakfast. The location is also excellent and walking distance to the central plaza. Excellent bread at a small bread shop next door.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ben_from_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#48 of 75 in Antigua
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#63 of 75 in Antigua
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#46 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara

Address: 2a Ave. sur 20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: $61 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing