We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Juma Ocag
Ranked #10 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this place. It is very clean and quiet. It is near all the amenities. A nice restaurant close by;ask the owner. Two supermarkets and a Market and abundance of different eateries. Walking distance to the centre. Few bakeries and coffee houses. I will stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: A room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Great location, lovely staff, fantastic price for Antigua which is otherwise quite pricey. Loved the candles in the evening & the nice courtyard area. Very nice to have tea & coffee in the morning & free purified water. Recommended for Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My friend found this hotel for me, neatly tucked away almost across from the Antigua Artisan Market. There are bakeries, etc. nearby and walking to the main square is perhaps 5 minutes, not too far. Atmosphere is quiet, pleasant, and I got good nights' sleeps. I would stay there again anytime. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

After spending several months in Guatemala in several different hostels, this one became my favorite. In fact I stayed there three times, whenever passing through Antigua. The hotel is located along one of the major roads in Antigua, just across from the local market yet it is quiet. What impressed me most and made me coming back to this place was it's cleanness, working warm showers and great location, just near market, two major supermarkets, and local bus station. The rooms are well maintained, with actually working showers, comfortable beds with clean sheets (if you traveled in Guatemala then you probably know why I mentioned that). Each room I stayed had a metal cabinet that could be locked, big enough to put my whole backpack what added to my piece of mind. The doors to the hotel are locked at all time and opened by hotel staff upon pressing door bell. The staff is friendly and hotel offers free tea and coffee in the morning. The hotel has Wi-Fi internet that worked quite well in the rooms I stayed in (ground floor).

Room Tip: The rooms at ground level have a view into the garden and are fairly dark but less expensive. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouncing_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the Posada Juma Ocag hotel in Antigua. It was a wonderful little oasis in the city! The people that work there are friendly and nice, they have 'agua pura' in the lobby for your use, the rooms are incredibly clean and very cute. There is a nice outdoor lounge area upstairs for hanging out and enjoying the sun. It is in a fun part of town, near the market, a few blocks from parque central, and very close to some really great restaurants. I would recommend this place if you are staying in Antigua! The only negative would be that it was loud in the morning, as they are working on the building next door, and there were some very loud birds in the night. I had earplugs and that helped :)

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethnayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This has been the best place I've stayed in Guatemala, for the last six weeks. It's located between the mercado with the busstation and the central square. I arranged my stay by e-mail, because Antigua can be a challenging place to find accommodation. Within half a day I got a (positive) response, which reassured me about my choice. The family is very hospitable. Service with a smile. For just Q110 I had my own very (very!) clean room and private bathroom, a good bedlamp, two solid beds I could choose from, free coffee in the morning, free water refill and a Wi-Fi connection inside the room. It's not a very big place and there is no real relaxing/sitting area. If you want to meet other tourists then this isn't probably the place to be. If you want to have a very nice place to meet the city and local people it's a great starting point. And nearby you find at least two good local spots to eat. Or just go to the market.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and wanted to stay for 4 nights. This was possible, but had to sleep in 4 different rooms. As we had been planning early tours in the area, they were very friendly and helped by moving our luggage when the next room was available.

They provided excellent washing service and have always been very friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pepijn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Property: Posada Juma Ocag
Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Juma Ocag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing