We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best value in Central America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada Juma Ocag to your Saves list
Posada Juma Ocag
Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value in Central America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Juma is a very small, well run place that is one of the very few that charges less than the tag on the back of the door. Many other places we stayed at charged as much or more than the central government allowed. this place does not have breakfast but at 160 Q it's the best value around and people were knocking down the door to get in. reservations are required. very friendly and helpful staff. I can't speak for the downstairs rooms, but the upstairs rooms were top notch for the price. The bathrooms were good, showers hot. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

in juma ocag everything is perfectly clean , quiet and the rooms have neat bathrooms with hot showers. other features are free wifi, free morning-coffee, allday drinking-water, a nice terrace, but not of the kind with views. very good location right by the market and central.
the owners and oters in charge are very friendly and welcoming. There is also a laundry service available, which was rather slow though...after all, very recommendable for the 140-160Q p.room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherkna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights the week-end before the last of November 2012 .

Here are the good points :
central location between the 3rd and 4th street at only 4 blocks from the central park, on the other street side of the public market, quiet inside, very polite staff,free wireless internet, good security for the traveller and his/her luggage, comfortable bed, rather clean, good size rooms and last but not least a reasonable room price.

The hard to take points : no guest of the roomer is admitted past the reception area, the hot water is rather lukewarm,checkout time is at 11 a.m., the market vendors and clients start at 8 a.m. and can bother a late riser with their noise.

Room Tip: Get backrooms for more peacefulness .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We looked at a couple of other budget options and this was by far the best. 160 for a double is a good price in Antigua. It's extremely clean and with the little things budget hotels often lack- reading lights, clothes storage etc. Upstairs rooms allow in more natural light. We have been here for 5 days so far so it must be good!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freewheelin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled upon this place from the outside, it's not in the Rough Guide or Lonely Planet so we were a bit cautious at first.The bathroom we saw downstairs wasn't what we were looking for, but the one upstairs was awesome! It's the best place we've stayed in in Central America, esp for the price we are paying. Super clean, very cute interior and decoration. There's free wifi and water as well. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Posada Juma Ocag is an 8-room family-run inn a few blocks from the Parque Central in Antigua. It is very clean, the rooms are charming, and the staff is extremely helpful. Hot water is available for tea/coffee in the mornings, purfied water is provided, and there is a fridge for guest use. Upstairs rooms are lighter and brighter; downstairs rooms are dark and can have a mildew smell. We stayed here 8 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Single rooms are Q120 (US $15.00).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centrally located, small room with cheap fittings, friendly staff, reasonable price. Good communication. Nice garden albeit small.
A fair place for a couple of days in Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
15.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 79 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#5 of 79 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
14.6 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#20 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#19 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#1 of 83 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Property: Posada Juma Ocag
Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Juma Ocag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing