We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite small hotel but with regular size rooms !”
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Juma Ocag
Ranked #9 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights the week-end before the last of November 2012 .

Here are the good points :
central location between the 3rd and 4th street at only 4 blocks from the central park, on the other street side of the public market, quiet inside, very polite staff,free wireless internet, good security for the traveller and his/her luggage, comfortable bed, rather clean, good size rooms and last but not least a reasonable room price.

The hard to take points : no guest of the roomer is admitted past the reception area, the hot water is rather lukewarm,checkout time is at 11 a.m., the market vendors and clients start at 8 a.m. and can bother a late riser with their noise.

Room Tip: Get backrooms for more peacefulness .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Posada Juma Ocag
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We looked at a couple of other budget options and this was by far the best. 160 for a double is a good price in Antigua. It's extremely clean and with the little things budget hotels often lack- reading lights, clothes storage etc. Upstairs rooms allow in more natural light. We have been here for 5 days so far so it must be good!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freewheelin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled upon this place from the outside, it's not in the Rough Guide or Lonely Planet so we were a bit cautious at first.The bathroom we saw downstairs wasn't what we were looking for, but the one upstairs was awesome! It's the best place we've stayed in in Central America, esp for the price we are paying. Super clean, very cute interior and decoration. There's free wifi and water as well. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Posada Juma Ocag is an 8-room family-run inn a few blocks from the Parque Central in Antigua. It is very clean, the rooms are charming, and the staff is extremely helpful. Hot water is available for tea/coffee in the mornings, purfied water is provided, and there is a fridge for guest use. Upstairs rooms are lighter and brighter; downstairs rooms are dark and can have a mildew smell. We stayed here 8 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Single rooms are Q120 (US $15.00).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centrally located, small room with cheap fittings, friendly staff, reasonable price. Good communication. Nice garden albeit small.
A fair place for a couple of days in Antigua.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, safe, opposite the market and a really good bakery, $18 for one, $22 for two. It has a small place upstairs to hang out.
The room has everything I look for in a budget hotel: Enough shelves in the bathroom and the bedroom, bed side lamps, a closet, a little table. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ended up here for our first night in Guatemala. like other reviews say, it is clean, good value, kind staff. I'm sorry we didn't stay here again the next time we were in Antigua.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenandTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 75 in Antigua
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 112 in Antigua
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#5 of 112 in Antigua
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $24 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Juma Ocag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing