We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to dine in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sabe Rico

Sabe Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: International, Guatemalan, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Tradicional Colonial House with a beautiful garden, orange trees, herb garden, you can eat outside of the Garden- Restaurante whips up tasty salads and sandwiches, using ingredients from its herb garden, as well as offering fresh-baked breads and brownies. It also sells fine wines and imported foods. Eat in one of the various salons or have a picnic.
Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to dine in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Fantastic dinner with Michael and Juan Carlos, two guys who are committed to their craft and in creating a healthy and interesting menu.

The garden setting is out of this world and totally unexpected

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hornyhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    151
    33
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You Must See and Eat at this Garden and Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is one of the greatest restaurants in Antigua. It has beautiful gardens with flowers, herbs and birds. The food is great and freshly prepared and served by friendly helpful staff. I had a pasta dish with so many veggies and freshly grated parmesan cheese. It was delicious and I had enough to take home for another meal. The bread is also wonderful. There is also a chocolate store with truffles and bon bons that are to die for. I live in Antigua and this is one of my favorite places to take my guests.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Mandatory stop for a bite of food or for coffee and dessert. Chocoholics have a lot of options to taste!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I read about this place and decided to go. I wanted some chocolates. However, I found great food, desserts, coffee, etc., etc. The staff are very friendly and patient. Ask questions, small and taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This restaurant has it all. Typical Guatemalan food, delightful courtyard and space between dining areas so you feel like you are in a private home. The food is local and fresh. The service is fast and helpful. We were there for lunch and enjoyed enchiladas and tacos, Guatamalan style. At the front of the restaurant is a wonderful bakery, chocolatier and food specialty shop. You can also pick up salads from the cooler. Enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank wayzata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabericolaantig... a, Director General at Sabe Rico, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you!!!
We appriciate your comments!!!

Atte, Juan Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must be in Antigua!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I'm just amazed this restaurant is no number one in Tripadvisor... we visited Antigua several times and in our more recently visit we discover SabeRico.. oh my!! is soooooooo good!!! first than all, the entrance of the restaurant look like a little bakery, when you go inside and ask about the restaurant the waitress show you the beatiful garden where the restaurant is... we spent 3 days in Antigua and we ate there every single meal!! every time was a: hummm! in every bite!! in fact, the first day we ate there a famous singer rock star in spanish was there, and the waitress told us he ate there 3 days in a row because he was there in tour in Guatemala city!! see, even famous go there!! The employees was very helpfull and friendly!! I highly recomend this place!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M0renaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabe Rico also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Sabe Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing