We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Parque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Parque
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'll break down the review in different parts so it's helpful for those people seeking detailed info:
-Location: couldn't bee closer to the action, is half block from the center park were on the weekends Antigua has some activities, and well positioned in the middle of restaurants and shops, you couldn't pick a more centered spot to stay. One block from ATM's, Citibank, cafeteria (Starbucks style) and a lot of restaurants that explode the Guatemalan cuisine and found some thai, itallian, mexican, etc...
- Food: well, for the breakfast they charge $5 USD (40 quetzales), and includes scrambled eggs, beans, fried bananas and sausages, plus orange juice (not fresh made) and coffee, while this could sound like a good deal, once you start walking around you'll find formal restaurants with the same deal and less price! 25 quetzales (3 USD). I just say that breakfast is not one of the strong sides of this place.
- Attention: to be fair I have to say that this is one of the strongest sides of all Antigua, and the personnel on this hotel is not different, 1st class! available at all moment, wanting to help you in all your needs, lovely!
- Rooms: clean, rustic style (wood), big, hard bed, shower with decent water pressure. On the noise since I've seen many comments I wanted to be clear on this, there is indeed in the hotel next door a bar that is most of the time crowded (because it's really good ambient, mostly foreigners), I couldn't hear them probably because I picked a room in the opposite side so I think this part can be controlled depending if you are clear with the front desk and ask them to place you far (entering to the hotel all rooms on the left will match this). The room doors are not thick so yes if there is people walking you could hear some noises, the hotel wasn't crowded so it was not a problem for my or my 4 yr daughter, not enough to keep us awake, I think because it was low season.
Pool: it does has a pool, because of the cold weather we decided not to use it but seems that during summer it can be fun for the kids.
Conclusion: Good hotel to stay, in the middle of the action, about the comments on the noisy rooms I have to say that this can be solved depending on the room location, would be unfair to catalog this hotel as noisy overall for this detail.
I'm raiting kids activities and fitness center as poor because there are non, not because it was bad.

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a room on the left area, don't pick the right because this would be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
59
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I wonder if I stayed in the same place as the other reviewers. I was there this year at the beginning of August and had no problems with noise. Our room was right near the reception, so maybe the other part of the hotel was noisy.

We had a budget trip but decided to go mad at the end and splash out on Hotel Casa del Parque. Staff are nice, breakfast is tasty and the jacuzzi can be hot if you ask the staff to turn up the heat!

Room Tip: Near the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybersusst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The location is ideal but as others have said make for loud nights! It was very easy to hear loud music, talking, laughing, even karaoke form the neighboring bars until very late or should I say early in the morning. We were then woken up early by other guests talking, staff working on the hotel grounds, city sounds. Several mornings we woke up at 6:30 a.m. to workers trimming trees. The thin walls made it easy to hear our neighbors (I could hear our neighbor snoring through the wall and chatting early in the morning). Unfortunately we were sick for part of our stay, therefore were in our room a great deal. I suspect that had we not been sick we would have been gone more and may not have been so bothered by the noise. Otherwise, the room was spacious, clean, comfortable and the grounds beautiful. The wifi did not work and the breakfast was good. Minus the noise this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is ideally located near the square. However, it is across the street from Riki's bar and above Ocelot which means that many nights every week it is almost imposible to sleep; drunk foreigners keep you up til 4 and Guatemalan workers wake you up at 6:30! The hotel is pretty, the staff hard-working and helpful. But if you value your sleep, think twice. I see that someone commented ont he free wifi -- we found it to be unreliable. And we were charged US$5 for breakfast so only did this once.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is very beautiful, but its location next to a bar makes it difficult to find sleep before 3 am. The rooms are small. Free internet everywhere, breakfast (although basic) is included in the price, the location very close to the Parque is ideal, but if you need to rest well, this is not the place to be. In addition to the noise from the bar I also found the walls extremely thin; i could understand every word of the conversation in the neighbouring room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGrube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent two nights here and wished we could have stayed for longer. The rooms where spacious, with extremely comfortable beds and the shower was the best we had in Guatemala. It was a a real treat to use the sauna, pool and jacuzzi (all in great condition) and we left feeling more relaxed then we had in weeks. The location just off the main square is perfect for exploring the town and the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull. I really couldn't recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is very nice and appears to be well maintained. Stayed here on a Saturday night. The room was beautiful but the only problem was that is very close to a bar and the noise to the bar kept me up all night. There was noise from outside until 3:30 a.m. I would give this hotel a 5 star but for the noise. Our room had front exposure to the street which didn't help. I would think that if you had an inside room this would not be much of an issue. During the day, it is in a great location, only a block from the central park.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the street during the weekends. Very close to a bar and the noise may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy and Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#21 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#13 of 80 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#9 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Parque

Property: Hotel Casa del Parque
Address: 4th Ave Norte # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 4-star hotel, with 5-star service, in the beautiful colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a few steps from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, which ensures your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. Close to all the historical sites. We offer 15 rooms w/bath, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet offered, heated swimming pool, sauna, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing