We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love La Pena...”
Review of La Pena de Sol Latino - CLOSED

La Pena de Sol Latino
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love La Pena...”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Our fourth trip to Guatemala doing volunteer work in the Chichicastenango area. We've stopped in Antigua at the end of every trip, and always had at least one meal at La Pena. Great location; great atmosphere; great food and great value. Bill has always been there, with his welcoming smile and easy conversation. We've only met Mary once - a very welcoming and friendly lady. They are awesome hosts!

We have one more night in Antigua...maybe we'll go to La Pena for dinner with live music!

See you next time Bill & Co.!

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapenaantigua, Owner at La Pena de Sol Latino, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are so lucky.... we just sit here and tons of great people pass through our world! Only the best come to Guatemala! Bill and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    34
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and great music”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've eaten here several times. If you want a better than average meal in a great atmosphere with live music when visiting Antigua, this is your place. The music isn't too loud, it serves as a nice background. You can get away with paying about $10.00 a person for dinner. They have an almond crusted tilapia dish that tastes real good. Desserts are also really tasty. They have a terrace to sit on, but I think it's just an overflow. They wouldn't allow me to sit there last time I went because no one else was sitting up there. My only observations / criticisms would be the following: They allow street peddlers in to sell necklaces or other tourist items. That happened the last time we went. Also, the band came to our table to sell their CD. They have it up front if you want to go up and buy it. I don't care for that because Antigua is full of that kind of thing. I like to eat privately. Most of the nice restaurants will let people sit outside to sell their things, but not let them in. Finally I wasn't offered a factura (An invoice, probably because I look like a tourist) which you need if you pay taxes in Guatemala (like I do). Otherwise it's not important. Regardless of these things, I still visit this restaurant most times that I visit Antigua. It's a great place to eat and very economical for such nice food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RegularTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Best meal in Antigua”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just came back from a week in Antigua. Loved the dinner and the fabulous band. So much fun. The menu was creative and yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayrobert52645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatrealbutter, Owner at La Pena de Sol Latino, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We enjoyed having you! Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A complete package.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The entire dining experience was excellent. Greeted warmly, menu advice from the owner which turned out very accurate, well prepared eggplant appetizer & grouper with macadamia nuts, rosemary potatoes & vegetables. Everything cooked perfectly. So often fish & veges are over cooked. House wine was perfect accompaniment. Coconut flan was a great finale. All this was set to local music played well by the four piece house group. What a treat! Will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelers96067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay food but GREAT MUSIC”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food was not as good as the menu and the prices make it out to be. We had the fish volcanoes, a traditional guatemalan dish and the penne with the garlic and blue cheese sauce. We ALL agreed that the penne was the best.
We got there about 6:30 pm and so had tasted our food (or at least the disappointing dishes) before the music started. Then we stayed for about 2 hours listening to the music, IT WAS THAT GOOD!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mapybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pena de Sol Latino also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing