We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charity and goodwill”
Review of Base Camp Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Base Camp Hostel
Ranked #37 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed June 9, 2012

One night I found myself in Antigua on a cold rainy night. I had a bus to catch at like 4 in the morning, and decided not to get a hostel bed and just wait around for the bus. Problem is that the bars all close pretty early, and I had nowhere to even wait out of the rain. So I shuffled into the base camp hostel and begged some shelter for a few hours. To my delight and surprise the fellow at the desk greeted me warmly and showed me to a nice warm couch where I could sit down and relax. It was a true moment of hospitality and charity, he didnt charge me a thing and only asked that I return the favor by writing a review. So this review is a little late in coming but here it is. The place is really charming, small and quaint but very clean and well put together. If I ever went back to Antigua I would certainly stay there. Thanks guys, for helping out a weary traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2ocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Base Camp Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hostel is a bit quieter then some of the others (one dorm room), but the rooms are decent, staff are great, and shower is hot. Each bed in dorm has its own power plug and light which is really handy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justsomeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My only dealings with Base Camp was finding out two weeks after making a reservation that they had "overbooked." The manager's excuse was she was new to the reservation system. Any place that takes two weeks to figure out they were double booked should probably be avoided.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank bmwarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

A great small hostel where you get to meet every other guest staying there. It is very clean and quiet. They serve a great breakfast. The staff is wonderful. If you like sports as much as I do, their related company o.x. expeditions can hook you up with great (and extreme) volcano hikes, mountain bike tours and the staff can tell you what else is going on in Antigua. Across the street is a great Japanese restaurant that sells 10Q margaritas on Tuesdays ...what else do you require?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dym_Sxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We were in a group of 8 so we pretty much had the whole hostel to ourselves. We stayed in a private room with two single beds and shared bath. Room okay but got very hot as no outside window. Not the cheapest in Antigua at 200q for the room. The bottom floor is pretty cool with a ping pong table, kitchen and lounge area. Gives it a very homely feel. Lady who checked us in was very nice and we had booked the overnight volcano trek and left a 300q deposit each. However the next day i hadto be hospitalised and they refused to refund the deposit saying we needed to give 24 hours notice (which was not stated anywhere). They wouldnt but, only letting us move to another tour 3 days later. Still not well 3 days later so we cancelled (this time 24 hours in advance) and got the money back. Didn't really like their attitude towards us though. If your sick your sick.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We spent two weeks at Base Camp Hostel during our stay in Antigua. The place feels like home. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed and to help you in any way they can. There is also an Outfitter O.X. Excursions at Base Camp that runs overnight tours to Volcano Pacaya (which is a must see in the Antigua area). Victor and his staff really took care of us and Marible cleans the entire hostel from top to bottom everyday. Base Camp is located just a couple of blocks from multiple Language schools. There are great bars and restaurants in the same street and it's four blocks from the main square.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aracely_2backpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alena251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#8 of 112 in Antigua
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaval Hostel
Kaval Hostel
#29 of 112 in Antigua
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Esthela
Villa Esthela
#27 of 112 in Antigua
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#22 of 112 in Antigua
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#5 of 112 in Antigua
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wicho & Charlies- B&B
Wicho & Charlies- B&B
#10 of 134 in Antigua
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Camp Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Camp Hostel

Address: 7th Calle Pointe #17, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $17 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's ONLY Adventure Hostel. Base Camp is the perfect place to begin and end your Antigua Adventures, whether you plan to climb a volcano, hit the trails on a mountain bike or just walk this beautiful city and visit the ruins, cafes and museums. We can help you make it happen, Adventure is what we do. Our facilities include a fun, up-beat atmosphere in a intimate hostel setting with all the comforts. We offer nice comfortable dorm rooms (Camp 1 has six beds, all other Camps 2,3 and 5 offer 4 beds) and one very nice private room for two (Camp 4). A hot breakfast of eggs, beans, bread and your choice of coffee / tea is included with your stay. Chill out on our roof terrace with a cold beer and take in the magnificent view of the surrounding volcanoes in which we climb, volcanoes Agua, Fuego and Acatenango. Fire up a game of ping pong or nestle into one of our comfy couches in the chill-cave where we have a flat screen and NETFLIX. There are plenty of places here to get comfortable, just like home...Only cooler. Our Helpful staff can lend great travel advice as well as clue you in on the best activities and adventures here in the Antigua valley. We look forward to meeting you. ADVENTURE TOURS TV / MOVIE room (NETFLIX) Games...Board games and others Ping Pong and Darts Super comfy beds (really, they do not suck) Free Breakfast WiFi of course Safe / Secure environment Free bag storage Movie night Daily Happy Hour Terrace for sunning, smoking, etc. Expert travel advice and more.... Feels like home....Only cooler! :) We suck on LOLLYPOPS!!! :D and so should you, thats why we pop a lolly in your mouth upon arrival. :P ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Base Camp Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing