We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in a Town with Many; Great Location”
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I considered giving it 5 fobs. If it was slightly cheaper or the beds slightly more plush, I likely would have. Antigua is an atmospheric tourist town where hoteliers appear to compete qualitatively. There are a lot of attractive superior properties in the $50-100 per night range. If paying more, I hope you get something truly special because there's a lot of quality in the mid-range properties and some super value among lesser priced hostels. After a week home stay in language school at San Pedro on Lake Atitlan, Casa Antigua was very inviting (my teens endorsed the place). We stayed in a slightly higher priced triple on the front court yard. The hotel is a classic old aristocrat's home converted to hotel of which Antigua has many. Wifi issues in certain rooms? My son noted the ancient 2 foot thick solid walls. The property is well maintained with orchids hanging in the halls and birds of paradise in the courtyards. Coffee and filtered water is openly on offer. Rear rooms offer seclusion and 'at home' furnishing in covered courtyard nooks. The place is quiet and secure with the staff very helpful. It enjoys a particularly advantageous location a block from the central square just off the avenue with the Santa Catalina arch. I easily endorse the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vaudeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 434 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I spent a week in this beautiful hotel with a group of 22 people, and the Customer Service was amazing. All the staff, "chicas y chicos" were very polite, respectful, helpful and nice and provided an excellent customer service even though we were a big group with many teenagers. The breakfast buffet was excellent and delicious. The Hotel has one of the best locations in town, very close to the central plaza and it was very safe ( they looked the street doors at night.) And there are many delicious restaurants and coffee shops in the same street and all around. The Hotel has a little store where they sell the most beautiful hand made blouses, bags, dresses, boots and shoes, blankets, etc etc, and you can guaranty they are authentic. The lady Esperanza who works at the store is very knowledgeable of her culture and traditions and very nice too.
I totally recommend visiting Antigua that is beautiful and staying in this great Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vivis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Small, intimate hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean & safe (street entrance locked at night). No A/C but a fan was provided & I comfortable sleeping with windows open. Excellent location...close to central plaza & several eating places. WiFi coverage in courtyard/reception area. This was my 2nd stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DreamerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful grounds, distinctive and beautiful large room and bath, very quiet, but centrally located just a couple blocks from the central plaza. Very helpful staff, especially with early early shuttle to Airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was a good place to stay for the couple of nights we had in Antigua. There were pros and cons - on the positive side it is a charming garden/courtyard where you can have your breakfast and its in a super location very near the town plaza etc. There is a great view from the roof terrace. They can provide a very generous breakfast for $5 US (but coffee lovers will prefer to go elsewhere for their hit!). The wifi didn't work in our room only at reception and in courtyard to a certain extent. We didn't get much helpful information about local places to eat at reception (but perhaps this is because day receptionists seem to be much more knowledgeable than night ones and we arrived later in the day). Our hotel door could be pushed open even when locked and no safe is provided so we were glad to have our own locks for valuables in bags. The shower heat and pressure was dependent on whether others were showering at the same time (ie could blast hot or cold all of a sudden and stay that way). I couldn't honestly say that I thought it was great value for money but if you're looking for something in the center on a budget and you're not bothered about the other things then this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: rooms at the back away from noise of the street - check your door closes properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy_n_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This little inn was made even greater by it's incredibly accommodating staff. We had some unfortunate travel hiccups with a tornado watch making us lose the first night in Antigua. That being said, from the second we arrived they were great and helpful and recommended walking around Antigua as it's a very easy walkable little town. Visit the local market with tons of locally sourced textiles, pottery and woven souvenirs.

The hotel itself is a great place for a good nights rest. We stayed in room number one. We experienced no excessive or unusually loud noise from the outside bars and restaurants nearby even though we stayed on a Friday night. That makes us confident in saying that if you're stopping by Antigua for a couple of nights you should consider staying at Casa Antigua and PLEASE do yourself a favour and visit the restaurant next door as it had the best dinner we've ever had traveling!!!! For more reviews of our time in Guatemala and other places to visit please read our profile.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank dieciseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The grounds of this hotel are quaint and beautiful. I imagine keen photographer would have love taking pics of the hotel garden. The staff are super helpful with restaurant tips or organising tours. After arriving on a red eye flight from LAX they checked us in early - thankfully!

We initially had picked a musty room, we passed out for 5 hours. The hubby checked out some of the other rooms that were airy. The staff let us change rooms. We moved all our stuff - but I had forgotten my wedding ring. The front desk handed my ruby and diamond wedding ring to me after they had cleaned the original room. Not used to having a wedding ring, but I feel super blessed to have picked a hotel with such helpful and honest staff :D

The only downside are mosquitoes - but that's probably all of Guatemala

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Zani_Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#34 of 75 in Antigua
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $54 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing