We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitor”
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We returned to the hotel this year after a pleasant stay on our last years trip. It's location, friendly staff, nice gardens and clean rooms make for a reasonably priced stay.
The posted prices were a bit higher this year, but we were given the same rate as before.
We stayed in room #8 , so had access to what seemed like our very own garden table.
We concur with the previous reviews and would stay when we visit again next year.

Room Tip: I would choose a room at the back, they are quieter and you don't hear the rolling suitcases in...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 423 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in Room 15 at this hotel for a week while studying Spanish at the Christian Spanish Academy, which is very close by. We originally picked the hotel based o its proximity to the school as well as the central park and also because it was a good price. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The hotel is not luxurious -- the room is spartan, but functional. We always had enough hot water in the bathroom and the small TV was adequate for watching news channels (BBC, CNN) as well as local channels. There is a rooftop terrace with a nice view that's open until 10pm at night.

The hotel has a nice garden up front and the corridors have tables and chairs where we could sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or tea any time of the day -- the hotel offers complimentary tea/coffee and water. We often sat around in the garden and enjoyed the nice afternoons with a cup of tea.

The staff is excellent -- at the front desk we were always greeted warmly by Leidy and Rocio. Each morning we had an excellent breakfast served by Alba and Claudia. Some days it was a buffet with a wide selection of dishes. On other days, when there were not enough guests for a buffet, we ordered Desayuno Chapin (Guatemalan breakfast) the previous night and we were always served breakfast on time the next morning (that was important for us because we had classes starting at 8:00 am).

The hotel has a great location on 3rd street near 6th avenue. The central park and 5th avenue (Los Arcos) is just a short walk away. And continuing on 3rd street towards 6th avenue and beyond brought us to the central market.

All in all, we consider Hotel Casa Antigua an excellent choice and would pick this hotel again the next time we come to Antigua, Guatemala.

Room Tip: We had room 15, which was way in the back. It seems rooms farthest from the entrance would be quiete...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lnbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at this typical Antigua hotel that is small-ish, all on one level, with the exception of the roof-top terrace. Rooms are clean and simple, but comfortable, with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Beds are fairly firm and the TVs offer local channels, channels from other parts of Latin America, along with a handful of English language channels. The staff is wonderful...very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We felt safe in the hotel at all times. There are three beautiful courtyards in the hotel, the one closest to the entrance being the nicest. The breakfast is quite good, as well. For a small fee you can choose from a typical Guatemalan breakfast ("chapin"), a continental or American. Complimentary coffee, tea and purified water are available 24 hours/day.

Lastly, the hotel is in a great location, just minutes from the central park and some good shopping nearby. We highly recommend this place and would stay here again. (At night, the area can be a bit noisy due to clubs and bars. Clubs close at 1 am though and it quiets down after that, except for the occasional rooster at 5 am...but this part of Guatemala's charm!)

Room Tip: Choose rooms toward the back of the hotel, where it might be a little quieter...rooms 9 and 13 are g...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

In general hotel pricing in Antigua is "tourist" impacted...pricing of many properties are way out of line for what you get.
That having been said this hotel seems to have a better grasp on reality with at least a willingness to moderate their initial asking prices.
So, we enjoyed the courtyard setting. Very clean and quiet. Lots of hot water, even in the sink. Free coffee and tea available all day. Friendly staff. The room was modest size which is not a problem for our "minimalist" lifestyle. Super central location, a block from the plaza and 3 blocks from the local mercado.
If you're budget travelers hang here a night and look for other options the next day without carting around your luggage.

Room Tip: "ask for a lower price for the "smaller" rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

In this case, first impressions are deceiving. The flat front wall of the Hotel, like all the others in Antigua, is not welcoming but once into the hotel entrance the whole area is welcoming with gardens, tables in grassy areas and lots of flowers. We found the rooms a bit spartan and dark but the location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the cobble-stoned streets of this old Spanish town.

Walls are thin and noise from surrounding rooms can be an issue for light sleepers.

An inexpensive morning meal is available on-site if you wish to eat in.
.
Everything is within easy walking distance as the town is small. The main square is only a block and a half away. Be ready for the street vendors if you go there.

The local people are dressed in very colorful garb that is a photographers dream and the mass of people, bicycles, tuk-tuks, motorcycles, cars, trucks and buses make this a very exciting place for people watching.

Any number of food places are available from street vendors selling tortillas made right in front of you to fine dining restaurants. Two eateries that we used on repeat occasions were a breakfast place just to the left of the hotel entrance and kitty corner across the street served fresh croissants with jam while the La Fonta de la Calle Real, immediately to the left of the hotel entrance served excellent dinners. Dinners averaged $25 per couple including drinks. Very good service.

The hotel staff were helpful in arranging a tour to climb a nearby volcano but the information they provided was very incomplete. The reportedly 45 minute walk was actually 3 hours of strenuous walking at an altitude of over 2,000 meters. Good walking shoes are necessary as sandals or flip-flops will not work on the sharp volcanic pumice. You also need a good flashlight as the descent is after nightfall. Amazing how good the light of an i-phone is!

Room Tip: Local tour agent Elizabeth Bell of Antigua Tours provides an excellent 3 hour walking tour of the to...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIVERSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We used this Hotel to house a 16 person Mission Team that was installing a Clean Water System in a village located nearby. The staff at the Hotel were very accommodating to our needs. They arranged for free parking for our rental van at a nearby property, and allowed us an early check in upon arrival and a late departure when it came time for us to leave. Our rooms (we used 7) were each well appointed and very comfortable. Particularly nice were rooms 3 (set up with three beds) room 12 (also with three beds) room 13, and room 17. The multiple common garden areas provide great places in which to relax. The floral displays were quite amazing. The Hotel provided us each morning with a reasonably priced ($5.00) and excellent buffet breakfast, and adjusted their serving hours to meet our time needs. Free coffee and free (clean) drinking water were available 24 hours a day. The free WiFi was fast and a nice added benefit. (Not all facilities in Antigua offer that service) We will most definitely return to this Hotel when bringing future Teams to Guatemala.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a very large antique bed, very romantic, room 2 has four beds, including two in an upstai...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcv1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

location is in the center of antigua, which is the best part about the hotel. the lobby.garden areas are beautiful. the beds are uncomfortable. the breakfast is cheap and average, would go somewhere else but definitely edible. but again, the mattresses were BAD. otherwise, it was fine.

Room Tip: try to get a higher # room, the lower the #, the closer to recpetion and the really loud coffee make...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#42 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $41 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing