We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel casa Antigua as everything else in Antigua was booked out. Basically we were desperate. Would not stay again or recommend it. It has potential to be really nice but...
Pros: nice pillows
Cons: rude service, water stopped running mid shower, dusty, very over priced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    132
    31
    21
    10
See reviews for
61
104
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful staff, clean rooms. Convenient to city center. Stayed here three years in a row visiting Guatemala. Have stayed in three different rooms and all were comfortable. Staff gives suggestions for restaurants in whatever price range you want. Wifi works in rooms not just in gardens that are beautiful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I took a group of 41 students to Guatemala, stayed at Hotel Casa Antigua and had a wonderful stay. Excellent customer service, great location and very accommodating service here. I will stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Casa Antigua felt like a home away from home. The staff was beyond helpful when we needed it. Our room had a huge comfy bed, hot shower and a beday! It is cozy and quiet with a beautiful courtyard and fresh coffee and agua pura just outside our door. It is close to the best coffee shops and restaurants in Antigua. When we return to Antigua this is our first choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBrown77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel has everything I could want and at a very reasonable price. The hotel is perfectly located near the yellow arch in the center of downtown Antigua with many quality restaurant choices nearby, including Subway and Pollo Compero if you want fast food.

On our first trip we stayed in Room # 1 which inclues a large four-poster bed in the center and a twin bed tucked behind the door. We liked the room so much that we requested it a second time when we returned to the city.

Amenities include: A night security guard, free WIFI, in-room fan, hot shower with good pressure, fresh coffee and bottled water station available 24/7, lovely gardens, quiet atmosphere, luggage storage before and after checkout, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff was very friendly
Rooms were nice... clean & comfortable
Fountains, décor, walkways all beautiful
Location is great
Breakfast was good
Felt very safe staying here.
I'd definitely recommend to schedule time to enjoy the hotel while you're here. It's very peaceful, also make sure you check out the roof top, nice views around Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This beautiful hotel was the oasis in the middle of a bustling city. There was a beautiful courtyard with a fountain, flowers and plants that made you want to sit there all afternoon. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean and very charming. The breakfast was very tasty as well. We stayed there for 2 nights but I will certainly stay here again when I go back to Guatemala!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpgomez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#42 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Property: Hotel Casa Antigua
Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing