We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful February Trip”
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was at the hotel for a week. The room was adequate, the price was great. We enjoyed the outdoor areas and breakfasts.
The staff is wonderful. They arranged a Spanish tutor for me. If I was by myself I'd stay here again. I felt very safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 423 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Casa Antigua is a beautiful hotel. Everything is very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. My parents came to visit and they don't speak any Spanish but the wonderful lady at reception spoke enough to make them feel comfortable and they said they wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Antigua. The rooms are very affordable and the location is not far from the main squad. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjohnst4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. The staff is nice and were good about an early wake up so we could catch our 4 am shuttle ride. The building is older but the grounds were well kept. The rooms are OK but on the dark side. I would pass on the breakfast. Great location only a couple of blocks for the central square. There are a number of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff is very kind here. That stands out. Pretty old world style with lovely public spaces. Beautiful fountains. Antigua can be quite expensive, so this is a good value hotel. Excellent location near the central square. Rooms are small. I was one, but in a room with a double and single bed. So, free space was a bit limited. There is cable TV, but reception has a lot of snow in the picture. This is common at many hotels I've stayed in in Guatemala. I advised the staff that they should put white or yellow tape down between the bathroom and the bedroom. The bathroom is a short step down & I kept stubbing my toe. (room #6, can't vouch for other rooms.) This could be dangerous. Fan in room. Complimentary pure water in jugs in the hallway. Walls are thin and if you go to sleep early, you may be disturbed by other guests speaking loudly. They post signs to curtail this. I found it to be a bit noisy one of the two nights I stayed here. (I think earplugs are good to have when traveling anywhere!) They provide a lock box in the room....unusual and very useful! Very pleasant place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

spent a total of 3 nights here on 2 occasions. Rooms are all different, so it's a grab bag as to what you get. Lots of garden areas with fountains to relax. Breakfast was sufficient. Staff was friendly. They had a good map to self guide yourself around the town. As long as you knew where the Parque Central was, you were never lost. Even being tucked away in a courtyard, you still hear noises, but as I said in a previous review, get used to it....
Not having stayed in any other hotels in Antigua, I cannot compare it, but I think it was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayanNawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel is a set of compromises. An old building that has tried to adapt to a modern world. Small number of rooms, nice courtyard. Breakfast is a joke. Room was small...some would call it quaint. Good location near plaza. Rooms are not completely airtight...and we were able to also enjoy someone's 6 am cigarette from the courtyard, even though smoking is allegedly prohibited. If you value modernity, stay elsewhere. If you desire a colonial touch, this will work.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passandshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I found it on trip advisor and booked by the reviews. Great location for my short visit to Antigua. A very helpful and kind staff, beautiful flowering courtyard sitting areas to enjoy the coffee. The breakfast was satisfying. A nice surprise overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rev P h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $41 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing