We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, comfy home away from home!”
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for one week . Reasonably priced, safe, hot showers, the beds and pillows were fabulous. Three great outside garden/patio areas with colorful flowers, hummingbirds, orchids, an avocado tree, open air and covered seating. Yummy breakfast available for extra fee--well worth it! Front desk staff are bilingual and incredibly warm and helpful. Attached to Mayan Boutique store with fabulous crafts...get to know your hosts Esperanza, Martin and Patricia. Great location, they can arrange airport transportation, accept travelers checks. Great wireless in rooms. Helped with lots of local details to make our stay special. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed here based on reviews on Tripadvisor and was very disappointed.
The room was pleasant and clean as was the bathroom and it had a rustic feel to it which I liked. Another plus is, as mentioned in other reviews, the courtyards which are well kept and a nice place to sit and read a book.
The negatives however mean that I will never go back here. The noise was unbelievable with the cleaning staff talking very loud outside of my room every morning at about 5:30am as well as the noise from other guests walking past the room. The staff were not very helpful and I was given the wrong information regarding pricing of trips and activities on more than one occassion resulting in some embarrassing situations. When I told the staff of these HUGE errors in information they did not seem to be overly bothered.
Antigua is a small, easy to get around, place and there is no need to be very close to the Central Plaza - I would save some money and stay a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mancduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I've stayed at Casa Antigua twice, each for about a week long. The service is great, and the hotel is beautiful. There are several spacious courtyards to sit and relax in, and the roof has a beautiful view of several volcanoes. The service here has always been fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrazyforCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed with friends in this hotel for 8 nights and was very impressed with the whole experience. I was communting to Guatemala City each work day, and it was so nice to return to the hotel and unwind in the evenings. I loved - and took advantage of each dya - the places to sit in the courtyards. The gardens are lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They are prompt in answering requests. The rooms are spaciouis, well equipped and comfortable. The security is good, the location convenient, the attached gift shop very nice. The view from the roof-top terrace is remarkable...including "Fuego", an active volcano! All in all, for this world traveler, iId say this hotel was one of my favorites!

Room Tip: Room #11 has an amazing bathroom, with skylight and atrium! Breakfasts are great. Location is also g...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Betsy55-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This place was amazing! The rooms were very clean, comfortable and the spacious. Parts of the hotel were outside and you could go up to the rooftop was amazing views! There was lots of comfortable common areas outside the rooms with tables and chairs. The people at the hotel are amazing. They are very friendly and will always assist and help you in whatever way you need. The hotel also has the best shop which is called the Mayan Boutique where you can get Guatemalan coffee, bags, cloths, jewelry etc. The people that work at the store are the some of the nicest sweetest people I have ever met. They are very helpful and give you great deals. This hotel is by far the best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArielleHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The staff of Hotel Casa Antigua is always professional and sincerely friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Casa Antigua is the most beautiful hotel that I have ever stayed at. It is completely open except for a few hallways and all of the rooms. Every room is completely different. There is a rooftop terrace with an amazing view of the surrounding mountains. All of the staff are very friendly and are happy to help with anything you need. Breakfast was always delicious. There is a store right inside the hotel also run by a few of the people who work at Casa Antigua. Many things are sold there such as homemade coffee, clothes, and bags. There is a computer that the guest can use and all the rooms have tv and running water. The hotel is about two block away from the central park, bank, ATM, and many food/shopping stores. I will be using Casa Antigua again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ElleDesrosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#42 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $41 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing