We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Cafe

Rainbow Cafe
Ranked #14 of 355 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Guatemalan, Central American, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Founded in 1992 Rainbow offers a delicious selection of international and local food made with fresh ingredients(some of them organic)at really good prices in a great atmosphere. Since the opening of the restaurant, we've been hosting live music every night which started with our now very famous Open Mic Night (Wednesdays at 8pm).Hope to see you around!
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Rainbow is a great little escape from the bustle of Antigua. It has relaxing music and atmosphere. The food is not exotic, but everything they make is very good. The drinks are delicious, especially the mojitos. They feature live music on the weekends and an open mic on Wednesdays, which is very fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ostockwell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    119
    35
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The 5 of us went here to have dinner. We were there a short time happy hour will end and told them we wanted to order drinks in the next 5 minutes so we could still enjoy that. But I had to go to the bar get the drinks. Turned out well. The food was good, for all of us. Can't review the waiters because we didn't see them much

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Really good and ample traditional breakfast ( eggs, beans, plantains, tortillas, crema)with large fresh OJ included. Atmosphere a nice blend of traditional and bohemian.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best lunch special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I always went there for their lunch special, a half sandwich and half soup for 35 Q. I like their potato leek soup; their tomato soup is pretty good too. Fresh homemade salsa and their Greek sandwich with homemade hummus is good. I like their roasted vegetable sandwich too especially when you add extra vegetables. Carrot cake that's light on carrots and heavy on frosting, but a large portion and pretty good. Wifi, nice atmosphere, decent service, old standby. I just wish they would give me more than three chips.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Efan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful breakfast!!! What a great meal - homemade tortillas, fresh eggs, platanos, frijoles and fresh OJ. Nice bookstore - friendly servers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocomae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Cafe also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Rainbow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing