We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Welten

Welten
Ranked #66 of 370 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Italian, Guatemalan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welten was founded in 1983, earning since then an excellent reputation; not only for our dishes, but also for the personal attention with which they are served. Each area has been carefully decorated in its own distinctive style to sit the mood and taste of each customer. Those who appreciate gourmet cuisine will find that Welten offers the best of both, international and Guatemalan cooking all made to order using the freshest ingredients.
Norco, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The ravioli with mushrooms was some of the best I have ever had. The patio dinning around the pool with friends and good wine. A very enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guatemalafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    47
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Least Favorite Meal in Antigua”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Even though Welten is a well-known restaurant in the area for a special evening, I am so happy we decided on Panza Verde for our anniversary dinner. The restaurant is way too overpriced for the area and the food quality. The atmosphere (although decorated with rose petals in the pool) is definitely not worth the hype. I would not recommend this restaurant for any first time visitors in Antigua.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“do not eat here”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This place is overpriced and disappointing. Brought guests for a New Year's dinner in Jan. 2013. Never again. Totally over rated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gurusdakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the restaurant that you will never forget”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Food was really good and served in an original way. The service was really kind and charming. Very beautiful and romantic decor (candles and rose petals in the pool)

Helpful?
Thank adri_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of our best evenings”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We ate at many pretty restaurants in Antigua, but Welton was the best in terms of quality of food, ambience and service. Although not inexpensive, the cost was very reasonable. We loved the space at the back around the pool, with lots of greenery separating each table, beautiful fairy lights in the evening, and use of rose petals to add to the atmosphere. We had saved the restaurant at Panza Verde for our last night in town, but in the end preferred Welten.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JodyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welten also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Welten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing