We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to Hotel Panchoy!”
Review of Welten

Welten
Ranked #64 of 370 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Italian, Guatemalan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welten was founded in 1983, earning since then an excellent reputation; not only for our dishes, but also for the personal attention with which they are served. Each area has been carefully decorated in its own distinctive style to sit the mood and taste of each customer. Those who appreciate gourmet cuisine will find that Welten offers the best of both, international and Guatemalan cooking all made to order using the freshest ingredients.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“close to Hotel Panchoy!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Seemed out of place in Antigua but likely made for tourists, excellent foods and beautiful ambience, walking distance to Hotel Panchoy, would come again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank akaleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    47
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining and good food”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had my backpacking daughter's birthday at the restaurant, with her friends. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and we had a beautiful table with rose's petals spread all over the map. The staff was very attentive; we had very tasty food that everyone enjoyed. By mid dinner, my daughter received an invitation to go outside the restaurant and was surprised by a fireworks show arranged by one of the waiters. Definitely a birthday to remember.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zipih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely restaurant. Higher end, and slow service but friendly and the food is excellent. Their chocolate mousse add in the Revue brings me in every time, and it is as good as it looks. Make a reservation at one of the private tables that basically only loks to the flower filled pool. Very nice for a relaxed romantic dinner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but used to be better”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Made reservations. We got there early and there were very few people there. We had drinks in the bar, which were marginal. After the drinks, we sat in the eating area by the pool. It is very nice outdoor dining with lovely flowers around the tables. The food was very good, but the service was very slow and inattentive. Maybe they cut the wait staff back and there was one person trying to handle the 3 tables in our area. It was either too much for him or he was just being inattentive. Nice place though. But not quite up to the standards I remembered from several years ago.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Fine dining with relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A menu in more languages than I have ever seen before presents numerous delightful options. We got a table in the rear around a pool with flowers floating in the water. It made for a very relaxing dinner. Tops among our group were the Norwegian Salmon appetizer and the fish in garlic butter for a main course.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hsbvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welten also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Welten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing