We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot showers, delicious breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hot showers, delicious breakfast”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the only place I stayed in Antigua that actually had HOT SHOWERS! I stayed at Casa Bellona too during the same trip (spring 2010) but really wanted to come back to El Hostal because I liked it better and it has a more central location. I stayed in a private room and thought it was worth the extra cost. They also arranged to pick me up at the airport for Q250. The only negative was a giant spider I encountered in my room one night, but this is pretty common in Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    63
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
63
99
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a lovely little hostel. My friend and I stayed in the 8-bed dorm room. The rooms and beds were clean and comfy, the staff was friendly and very helpful - not to mention very patient with my ridiculous Spanish. Free breakfast included was a huge bonus - it was tasty and a good portion. It is a few blocks away from the town centre, but still close to bars and restaurants and other exciting things. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Obviously, the fewer beds the better sleep you're going to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay, really close to everything in Antigua. The Staff is very helpful, they keep everything very clean and inviting. When booking day trips they suggest the most economical and enjoyable way not the most profitable for them. Getting around town is very easy, nothing is more than 6 or 7 blocks way and if you don't want to walk it's easy to get a Tuc Tuc for Q5. Breakfast is included and off a real menu with both local and US/ Euro food. Not just french toast and pancakes. Will stay there again in January when I go back with friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolachuckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have never written a review, and this hostel inspired me to. It blew my expectations away. The owners are soooo friendly and patient. The staff, esp the girls, are the nicest people ever. Everyone speaks okay english, so communication was easy. Super clean, staff is always cleaning. Hot water as well. The people traveling through was also cool. A lot of sun light in the common area and good conversations all around. Right across is skybar and cafe no se, which are fun, lively bars. Very calming here though, people keep voices down in the hostal later at night, so you are able to get a good nights' sleep. Plus, I was there for Thanksgiving, and the owners cooked a six course thanksgiving meal (turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and everything) for everyone for an extra charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After reading the other reviews, I thought El Hostal would be the perfect get away for my husband and I during a weekend in Antigua. I love "guest house" type places where we can get a private room for a good deal, and I like chatting with other travellers. We don't usually stay in dorms, and at this point in my early 30's I prefer a more mellow atmosphere in the places I stay, rather than a "party hostel."

I feel like the reviews were misleading, or it was an odd night at El Hostal.

We arrived in the afternoon, found our room (#5), and it was spacious and clean. There is not an outside window but since the courtyard is "open air" it didn't seem too stuffy. Folks were sitting around on laptops or watching a soccer game. The bathrooms were right next to us, and they too were clean. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly, more so than most places I've stayed in Guatemala thus far.

Then we went out in the town, shopping/eating/drinking. We came back around 10:30 ready to crash - I know 10:30 isn't late but we're teachers and it's late to us. We also thought we had chosen a mellow hostel! At 10:30 there was a group of tourists playing a loud drinking game involving some rooster noises or something else... they did eventually leave to go out drinking, but the noise level never dropped that much. We could hear someone who was sick in the bathroom, there were people smoking and talking loudly when they came back from the bars, and we could hear everything that happened in the courtyard.

Now - I know it's weird to give 4 stars with a night of not sleeping, however, I am taking into account the possibility that this was an unusual night. I also appreciate the positive:

-comfortable bed
-super clean room & bedrooms
-friendly staff
-AMAZING breakfast
-very affordable
-great location

I just want to put this review out there for people like us who prefer not to be woken up by other travellers throughout the night. We may as well have been staying in a dorm for the level of noise our room had. I would still recommend El Hostal (like I said, maybe it was an off night) but I wouldn't book all of your nights in case it's too loud for your tastes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecpan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am not a fan of hostals. Many people living/sleeping in one room is not my idea of a great accommodation. Perhaps it is my age and that I have already had enough of that communal experience. The good news of El Hostal is that it has private rooms too. Even though it is a shared bathroom, the overall ambience compensates for the lack of a private bathroom.
The breakfast, which is included, is great and much more than a bland continental type meal. The staff are friendly, attentive and accommodating. All is all it is a great, inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are over forty, ask for a private room.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It is a fantastic hostel. Extremely friendly staff, super clean, great location, BEST breakfasts and smoothies ever. I also have to mention that I left a considerable amount of money in my pillow case and only realised after check out. When I emailed them they had the money waiting for me to return to collect it, so nice to have such honest people working there. Thanks for a fantastic stay El Hostal, it is definitely one to remember! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 103 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#9 of 103 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 103 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#6 of 103 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1ra. Avenida Sur No.8, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hostal Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing