We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean hostel, friendly staff”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here three times whilst travelling in Guatemala. There are shared bathrooms for all rooms (we usually opt for private bathroom) but they were so clean we didn't mind! The staff are friendly and helpful, and the girls are always cleaning! Excellent breakfast included. Good wifi. Free water. Located opposite Cafe No Se, so there can be some pub noise but it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    63
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
63
99
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Already my third stay there and I still love it. In fact the attraction to this place is still growing. If you think of staying in the city of Antigua (highly recommended) some points which speak for EL HOSTAL B&B:
- Centrally located (5 mins walk to Parque Central) in a safe area of Antigua - no problems of walking by night, even alone
- Amazing breakfast included. You got 8 opcions to choose from (Everything from a basic continental over fruit salad to scrambled eggs with ham and cheese)
- Always helpful staff
- Very clean, beds are made each day, as the whole hostel is cleaned each day
- Really hot showers (consider it... )
- One of Antigua's best bars right in front of it. (The noise gladly is minimal, but to be on the save side take a room on the back)
- Good prices:
Q80 Dorm (about $10); Q130 Private (Q240 two persons)
- I am sure I forgot something..
- I am not working for these guys

Room Tip: They got two dorms. If you get the choice, take nr. 6 as it has less beds, is more quiet (nr. 2 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place is amazing.. A five minute walk from Parque Central and opposite the best bar in town..( don't let that put you off, the street noise is minimal and there are rooms set further back.) El hostel is the cleanest place I've stayed, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly...you really feel as though you're part of a family. The rooms range from private doubles to dorms. The rates are very reasonable with a delicious breakfast thrown in ...what's not to love?!! (I've been back twice and counting!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Been travelling for 4 months now and my girlfriend and I stayed at their place for our first couple nights in Antigua before we moved into a student house and absolutely loved it! Really what made me happy about the place was how clean everything was, especially the bathrooms. Very impressive guys. Also the service was excellent and proffessional. Not sure if they are brothers or not but the two young guys that were working were very nice an helpful to us in this confusing city where everything looks the same. Oh yeah, almost forgot they have a great breakfast in the morning thats included. And this is not just a bowl of mush included its a real filling breakfast. Thanks guys and we hope to see you again soon!! Tschüs!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaDeMono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a very nice place in the center of Antigua. Don't be fooled by your 1st look at the map - you might think this place is a bit out of town but actually it is just a 5 minutes walk to the parque central. There are nice bars around the hostel which has free wifi and very clean and nice dorms with lockers. An awesome breakfast is included in the price of 80 Q (march 2012, dormbed). This is not just bread with butter - you can choose between 6 different types of breakfast, and they are all really good and with free coffee or tea. It is not like you will have to go somewhere else to get a 2nd one that satisfies you.

Totally recommended, stay here if you can!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Facilities were great, rooms were clean and the free breakfast was amazing. Best hostel we stayed at in Guatemala, and for a great price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmunchie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Great stop for a quiet and relaxing get away after a full day in the city!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 105 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#8 of 105 in Antigua
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1ra. Avenida Sur No.8, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hostal Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing