We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$164
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Hotel(Antigua)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meson del Valle(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$69
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel La Sin Ventura(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$49
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Euro Maya Hotel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$37
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$39
$37
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$67
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Casa Cristina(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
235
66
10
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
66
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe no sefree breakfastprivate roombig lockersclean dormsdifferent optionsbed dormgreat hostalnice common areafacing the streetcleaned dailyarrange toursmonth triphome away from homenoisy at nightbars and restaurantslight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 316 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. My room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable.
The free breakfast is fantastic. It is located only a few blocks from the center of town and close to many clubs and restaurants. The owners are just wonderful people who helped us with everything they could, including travel and lodgings at Lake Atitlan. The communal dinner they serve each Monday night was more like a family gathering than a dinner out. Can't imagine a better stay than what I had

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgoddard58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The owners Gabi and Clay are very friendly guys and will try and accommodate you where they can. This place has an excellent open courtyard where one can enjoy a quiet extensive free breakfast menu in the mornings. I have been on various occasions to Antigua and what i really like about this place, which is in the price range of "cheaper hostels" hard to come across, are the real hot showers without electrical wiring. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Across the street you will find the bar to be In Antigua, called cafe No Se.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackhittheroad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

This small family run hostel is a great place to stay. The staff and the young Antiguan couple who own it make you feel more like family than a guest. The rooms are very nice, and I always stay in the private room which is one of the best bargains in Antigua. The private room shares a bath with the dorms, but that is a small inconvenience. Their location is good and easy to all the attractions. There is some noise from the bar across the street, but I have stayed in at least 20 hotels in Antigua and most of them have "street noise" as well. My advice to travelers anywhere is to bring along your ear plugs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

El Hostal is a really great place to stay. It is extremely clean and the building is really open, pretty and relaxed (hammock naps). The food is great. Breakfast is free every morning- and it's not your typical dry bagel and cereal. They actually cook you a full breakfast of your choice. Although El Hostal may be a couple dollars more than other similar hostels, I think the food and friendly staff definitely make it worth the extra $2 or so. I also recommend Monday night dinners, you have to pay but they are really good and a way to get some authentic Guatemalan food. The hostel seemed very safe since they always have a person at the desk and the door is usually closed. No one in our group had any problem with theft although we left our things in the room for a significant portion of our stay

Stayed: January 2011
Thank MollyStandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

El Hostal is located in Antigua, about 5 blocks from Plaza Central. The location is good because it's a little away from the hubbub of the Plaza but still close to a lot of restaurants, bars, ruins, and the Internet cafe. The hostel is very clean and the people who work there are very nice and accommodating. They really have HOT showers, which is rare in Guatemala. The only caveat I'd put out there is that the rooms on the street are good but difficult to sleep because of the bar across the street. However, the other rooms are just fine. The free breakfast is awesome with its many options.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca_ursa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews