We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, good service, easy to find. No wonder its #1”
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, easy to find. No wonder its #1”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My friend wanted to try this place since it has such wonderful reviews so we went for lunch. The food is delicious, I am not a meat eater but did try the sauce that came with his dish and it was truly something good. I had the fried sweet potatoes, a very generous portion and perfectly cooked. The place is easy to find since its so close to La Merced Church (the outside of the church is decorated like a wedding cake). The service was good, we went during the World Cup and didn't have to wait for a table. Remember to check the board by the door for specials. There was a vegetarian option (quiche) and there are some seafood dishes for those who don't eat beef.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bedlammanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    270
    70
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice Place to eat”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were a party of 5, staying in Antigua for 3 days, on our way to San Pedro la Laguna. We stopped for a late lunch at Hectors and we the only ones there. We had a charming table in front of an open window so were able to watch the outside scene while waiting for our food, which takes a while because it is all cooked fresh. Between us we ordered 4 different types of meals and each one was delightful (we shared around the table to enjoy the taste of each dish) We would recommend Hectors as a place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Real Local Gem”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is one of Antigua´s finest restaurants as it has the balance of great food and good pricing. The place is owned by a well trained chef and that comes out in the variety and creativity seen in the dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hector's is a tiny spot just across from La Merced church, and after reading so many good reviews on TripAdvisor, my expectations for the food and service were very high. A friend and I had the day's special (grilled portobello mushrooms) and the carpaccio. The food was fantastic - the mushrooms were the best either of us had ever tasted! I will definitely pay Hector's a visit next time I'm around Antigua.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to its ratings!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Our dinner was delicious. I think my boyfriend got tired of hearing me rave about it. We both had the beef tenderloin medallions in a blue cheese cream sauce (can't remember the price either 110 or 135Q). The beef came with a tomato that tasted caramelized - it was mouthwatering! and fried potato discs that tasted more special than they sound. I had 2 for 1 strawberry mojitos (40Q) that I guzzled down like candy. The service was actually pretty poor and I don't usually comment on service because I'm usually indifferent to it. Since I don't value amazing service as much as the amazing food, I give it 5 stars anyways.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing