We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent food, service and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Delicious food and wonderful ambiance. Love it. Eat at Hectors every time Im in Antigua and they never disappoint. Turning out amazing plates from that tiny kitchen I don't know how they do it but its always great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lala2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    259
    70
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“#1 For a Reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was hands down my favorite meal in all of Guatemala! We went based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. I had the beef bourgoine and my husband had the beef wellington, which was there special for that night. It's a tiny restaurant, and there is no name outside, just a small board by the door with the specials of the day written on it. Two tables, that could seat 4 people, two small bar tables, and a bar area where you can watch the food being prepared in the kitchen. My recommendation is get there early because it does get packed as the night goes on! The flavor of the food was excellent, and the meat was cooked to perfection. The owner or member of the staff, I'm not sure, went around to every table to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves. We had two desserts because I'm pregnant, and couldn't decide which one I wanted! We had the ice cream with olive oil and seal salt which I thought was a little bit strange, but my husband liked it, and we also had the passionfruit creme brulee which was out of this world! I will go here everytime I visit Antigua. I almost don't want to write this review so it can remain a hidden gem! Delicious and worth every penny!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBISTRO A, Owner at Hector's Bistro, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is always a pleasure to know we are making our costumers happy! But I have to say that it is thanks to clients reviews that we are able to keep our #1 status. Thank you again and hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just not the same”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We used to go to Hectors twice a week but since the new owner took over the quality of the food and service went downhill. The last time we were there, we sat for 20 min waiting for a drink and someone to take our order. When the food came, (we ordered two tenderloin sandwiches) one of them tasted like rotting meat and we promptly sent it back. The second one was okay but the fries were cold. Waited another 30 min with dirty plates in front of us to get the check. Sorry, you lost a customer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank akk456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBISTRO A, General Manager at Hector's Bistro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I deeply apologize for your bad experience, it is not typical for us to make these kinds of mistakes when it comes to our restaurant service and food quality. I wish I had known of this around the time you visited the restaurant but I am just finding your review out today.
Thank you for your feedback since it always helps us improve. Since you were a regular costumer I hope you give us a second chance to prove to you that our quality is as good as the rest of the reviews from other Trip Advisor costumers.
I hope we can meet soon.
My name is Luisa and this is my email address in case you like to contact me antiguahbistro@gmail.com as well as the number to the restaurant 7832 9867.
Sorry again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dependable top quality meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the places we go to when in Antigua. It's small, simple, often busy, but the food is always good.Try the Beef Tenderloin!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yes, this is one of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This bistro is definitely the best restaurant I had in guatemala and I did not take into consideration of the price. Kinda hard to find since it is too small and usually you have to wait but it is totally worth it! Highly recommend their carpaccio.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twistane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing