We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, this is one of the best meals I've ever had”
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 360 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yes, this is one of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This bistro is definitely the best restaurant I had in guatemala and I did not take into consideration of the price. Kinda hard to find since it is too small and usually you have to wait but it is totally worth it! Highly recommend their carpaccio.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twistane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    269
    70
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maya Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great casual dining!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food is excellent, the bistro is very small (but charming) so going during off hours will ensure seating! We ate at Hectors 3 times during our stay in Antigua (3 mos.) and will definitely go back when we return to Antigua.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The original host-owner sold it but it is still really good”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This bistro was strongly recomended by a friend and when we finally make it there to try it. We found out that the original Hector -owner and host - sold the place. Still it was a really good experience. We tried vegetarian quiche+salad and meat sanwich. Both dishes had great flavor and you can feel and see it was carefully cooked.
Good wine! Really good dessert to.
The service is really good and the place is cozy.

Helpful?
1 Thank mapoh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent food, great service and the place itself is as intimate and romantic as it gets. We are coming back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saftogvann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get the Steak”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food was so good here that we had to go back a second time. I ordered their filet again and it was just as good as it was a couple of days ago. Our friends were staying there for a month and they ate there a few more times and told us it was still the best in Antigua.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidlovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing