We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hector's rocks!!!”
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
Ranked #8 of 399 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was extremely fortunate to literally stumble upon Hector's after a long trip from London via Miami in September 2012. Dark and drizzly Friday night arrival alone in Antigua, looking for food. By chance it was an anniversary of (cant remember which one!)Hector's opening, free wine flowed and the food was lovely! Although the place was packed, the vibe was excellant, the food great and Hector sat and chatted with me until it seemed I knew everyone in the place. To top it all, come the early hours regulars Monaquita and Alvaro walked me back to my accommodation to ensure my safety!!!!

Don't believe all you read, shun the more touristy restaurants to go to this bar / bistro with a lovely local / some ex pat mix and feel the real warmth of Guatamala.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 738 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I don't see the point of eating there when you are a tourist in Antigua : average european food, expensive by local standards. The duck breast was just not duck! Something rather untasty that may have belonged to a turkey or a chicken, but still cost 18€. The beef was OK, but still far from what we expected reading all previous comments. It seems something changed there. Also the place is tiny and hot. It's so easy to find a local restaurant with a spacious courtyard, good food and good service, for half the price, that you should not go here. Try something on the pedestrian street between Merced and Parque Central.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NicoCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBISTRO A, Owner at Hector's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Your opinion has been taken into consideration. However, nothing has changed in our menu or service. We are a french inspired restaurant with a strong following. I can assure you that our duck and our beef are of the highest quality.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews and seeing a high rating on TA we visited in April 2013. Although the food was good it was not remarkable. The menu choice was fairly limited offering only heavy meat dishes and one vegetarian option (quiche).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBISTRO A, Owner at Hector's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for commenting our restaurant, we are a small french style bistro with small standard menu. However, our chef prepares everyday new and different specials from fresh pastas to succulent fish and seafood dishes, as well as varied vegetarian options. We are more than happy to do our best to accommodate special dietary needs and restrictions.
Thanks again for your review, we take them seriously and with them we try our best to better our service and food.
if you are ever back in Antigua be sure to stop by and enjoy our specials that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After having lived more than a year in Antigua, I still think Hector is the best restaurant you can find. I went to many place, good ones, and great ones. But Hector's food and ambiance is something that is definetly worth not only the visit, but even to wait for your table ... You wont find anything similar!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBISTRO A, Owner at Hector's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your positive comment on our restaurant and the service we provide. Its because of customers like you that we have thrived in becoming one of the best restaurants in Antigua. Hope you can keep on coming back and we will provide the same or even better service and ambiance.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hector's is expensive, even by Antigua's standards, but the French cuisine is authentic and delicious and the portions more generous than you would get in France! The only thing missing from our meal was some crusty bread!
We would return here again, it's worth hunting down, just keep your eyes peeled for the 'H'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBISTRO A, Owner at Hector's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We appreciate your positive comment on our restaurant. We are enchanted to hear that people leave our place with a positive note. I'm glad to hear that you found our portions big and tasty. We do now however have crusty bread for your meal and hope that if you ever come back , that you can come and enjoy another dining experience with us.
Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing