We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern french cuisine”
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
201 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Modern french cuisine”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It is a tiny place (you've been warned) so be prepared to wait. But it is all worth it once you settle in (hopefully at a proper) table and get to taste their wonderful cuisine. We had the beef and duck, both of which were delicious. And it was really fun to be able to see them maneuver in the small kitchen space. We ended off our meal with a simple vanilla ice cream with olive oil and black salt. And did we mention the prices were really reasonable?!?!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    270
    70
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional cuisine worth visiting”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had lunch here and glad we did. Absolutely tiny restaurant that probably seats no more than 20 people with an open kitchen. The food is hugely delicious. We had open faced tenderloin sanwiches, carpaccio, squash soup, a stuffed chcken special, roasted tomatoes in balsamic with mozarella. Everything was delicious. Best margaritas and Brooklyn IPA cerveza made the experience even better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonytravelkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a small restaurant (c8 tables) by El Merced & you cannot book. Get here early otherwise you will have to queue. Very good menu with huge portions & good & reasonably priced wine list. So much better than other more obviously tourist restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
822 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Lives up to the great reviews”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hector's lives up to its reputation as one of the best restaurants in Antigua. I had a light meal there on a warm evening. As usual the place was full, but the waitress found a place for me at a tiny table. On her recommendation, I had the squash soup to strait with along with a glass of Tempranillo. Both were delicious, especially the rich, flavorful soup. Vegetarian quiche was also tasty ... light filling, thick and crunchy crust.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, intimate setting”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic dinner at Hector's bistro. The roasted tomatoes were incredible, the beef tenderloin was quite good, and somehow they had Brooklyn IPA by the bottle. The owner/chef Hector was there and extremely welcoming. The rest of the staff was sweet and efficient. Maybe an extensive meal for Guatemala but fantastic value by any other standards for a restaurant that would measure up anywhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing