We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing, welcoming, gorgeous views, best food in Guatemala!”
Review of Earth Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earth Lodge
Ranked #7 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This place understands what hospitality is. It feels like visiting friends.

This is the second time I've stayed at Earth Lodge, I'm so glad I came back! Left a hostel up in Lanquin cause it was partying till 4am and I wanted to relax with a book. I walked down the hill to Earth Lodge at sunset with the incredible view unfolding in front of me, it was peaceful and quiet, they smiled and said welcome, Brianna actually remembered me from 2 years ago, and there was quiet jazz playing in the lounge - awesome! Dinner is real family style, and has the BEST home-cooked food I've had in Guatemala! The cabins are rustic but clean, nice, and comfortable, there are HOT SHOWERS!!!!!!! The vibe here is friendly and open and relaxed, this is the place to come for a night and stay for a week cause the hammock is just so inviting and people are just nice to sit and talk to! I think a lot of the guests are refugees from Antigua, trying to escape the noise in the city.

How many times can I click "Yes", that I would recommend this hotel to a friend?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamed9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 352 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Great environment
Relax atmosphere
Delicious food
Amazing service

Dress comfy cause you have to walk if you don't like to walk forget about it this is not a place for you, certain amenities that will entertain you they sure kept me busy.
Weather for me was great of course this will depend on the season I will recommend dry season starting February until May If I'm not mistaken. Its like living in the mountains which for me is great away from any noisy roads you can actually hear the forest.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xshinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

It was amazing! The service is great, food is very good, family style dinner rocks as awell as Sunday BBQ’s... great view, cool people, if you visit it once you are probably going to want to go back.... I recomend arriving by the earthlodge private transportantion, its cheap and way more practical.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgans_Robot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

There are so many awesome things about Earth Lodge. Your arrival will be memorable as the 7km ride up from Antigua is beautiful. Once you are dropped off at the end of the road at the village pila you take a 300 meter walk down a dirt path to the welcoming reception of the Earth Lodge staff. Please note that if you travel with wheelie luggage you may want to reconsider your bag selection.

The accommodations are excellent. We’ve tried them all: A-frame cabins in the tree canopy, a deluxe tree cabin with a tree growing right through it, the famous tree house, the dorm and camping spots. These are all available for a reasonable fee. They are comfortable, clean and quiet. The Lodge is in a safe location and is very relaxing for singles couples and families. Don’t get me wrong though, there is ample opportunity to get your groove on, especially at the live music parties Earth Lodge hosts.

The amenities are fabulous for the location and price. Hot showers and flushing toilets are available (not in your cabin, tree house or dorm but steps away). You can take a sauna if you need a cleanse or you can watch movies, exchange a book, surf the net (wi-fi is free and available in the common area) or take a hike. You can exercise your arms and legs by playing with the friendly dogs & cats or you can exercise your philanthropy by having spicy peanuts or a happy hour drink or four (10% of happy hour sales go to the local school fund).

And speaking of the local school fund… Briana and Drew have been a welcomed part of the small village of El Hato as they are very active in aiding the local school. They have a sponsorship program to pay for the kids’ tuition and supplies for the year. There are many ways you can help while at Earth Lodge: you can volunteer your building skills or help out at the school or at the Lodge. If you care to volunteer, your services you will be happily put to work.

The stunning and amazing views of the volcanoes and the valley below are one if the many features of this fantastic Guatemalan getaway retreat. The view is never the same. Most mornings the view is crisp and clear and at night you can spend your time watching for lava spewing form Fuego. Obviously if it’s raining or cloudy you’ll just have to stay another night to catch the lava. Earth Lodge is contagious.

You will not be disappointed by the food. The tasty AND healthy menu is great for vegetarians and carnivores alike. You will never have better bacon than at Earth Lodge. Every Saturday is BBQ night when a meat option is available on the normally vegetarian dinner menu. Ask if there is any of “Scott’s BBQ sauce” to have your meat basted in. You may not have any luck as we tried very hard to deplete the supply. Breakfast is served until 3PM if you were up late hanging at the bar or starts as early as 8AM if you need to be somewhere. The dinners are family style. They are ample in size and did I mention how yummy they are? The desserts and Briana’s famous brownies are always something I look forward to. I hear you can buy a printed version of the recipe book now. How fantastic is that?

We found out about Earth Lodge in 2004 and have come back numerous times over the years. The hotel and amenities keep growing but all in the right amount and always for the better. When we left in May they were just finishing the renovation and expansion of the common area. It will be magnificent.

Briana & Drew are the faces of Earth Lodge and very welcoming hosts. They chose their volunteers and their local staff perfectly. The service is always efficient and friendly and entertaining.

Earth Lodge is and will always be one of our favourite spots on the globe. We can’t wait for the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighV0ltage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

we needed a place to relax after a busy start to 2010, you can switch off, enjoy the fantastic views and be as social as you like. a short ride in Otto's truck for 50Q and your on top of the mountain! a short 'trek' down a trail (careful when its raining and definately take a backpack and not a roller case) you will walk onto a green lawn and greeted with friendly smiles.
we had a peaceful time, diddn't have to worry about food or drinks, everything was fantastically priced and super delicious!!
There is a sauna but if is raining make sure you get dry firewood otherwise all you will work up a sweet trying to get the fire going and all your efforts will be smoke!!!
a little prep for a supurb reward!
it gets chilly and night so you will need a long sleeve shirt or jumper, Drew is building a fireplace so when that's finished the lounge will be cozy and a great place hangout. tropical storm Agatha was making its way through Guatemala at the time so not much hiking or out door activities were taken advantage of, but we were told that the hiking is fantastic.
if your looking for down to earth people, tasty home cooking, very quite nights then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tranquilroatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere pervades the Earth Lodge. Breakfast is served until 3pm. Drinks are self service. And nobody bats an eyelid if you spend all day lounging in a hammock with a paperback. In short, this is the place to come when you want to kick back and relax.

The setting is idyllic. Up in the hills overlooking a valley with volcanoes off in the distance. I've stayed there several times and never tire of the view. The natural beauty and convenience of the location attract a wider variety of guests than your average hostel. As well as backpackers you'll find families, ex-pats, long-term volunteers, and even Guatemalans on weekend breaks from the city.

Everybody raves about the food and with good reason. The dinners here are some of the best you'll find on the gringo trail and great value. Everything is made fresh - right down to the hot sauce (with chilies from the herb garden), salad dressings and delicious beer bread. Given the emphasis on good food I wasn't surprised to find out that one of the owners used to be a professional chef.

There are a lot of these eco type retreats around but Earth Lodge have got the balance just right. It feels remote but is only a short drive from Antigua. It's rustic but with enough little luxuries (e.g. the hot showers) to be comfortable. And it's chilled without being overrun with yoga mats and bongos. It's not a big party place. You're more likely to be playing board games with your fellow guests than doing body shots off them (although I've seen that happen too!). But if you're looking for a spot of R&R, I can't think of anywhere better.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendlymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Amazing views of a picturesque valley surrounded by volcanoes and filled with rows of growing coffee and avocados, coupled with delicious family style dinners filled with conversation and secluded cabins in the woods that offer one the feeling of relaxation and natural wonderment. That sums up, what I think, people are looking for in a retreat from the grind, in a stay in beautiful Guatemala, and what Earth Lodge is all about.
Aside from the postcard setting, you see firsthand the hard work of the owners to have built the place with their hands, and the effort to support the small Mayan community that they are now a part of. Partnering with a local NGO to provide an English program and opportunities for guests to volunteer with children in the village. They are promoting a kind of tourism that has a positive impact, and I, for one, am a fan.
Like I said, these people just get it, so check this place out.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
908 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#3 of 117 in Antigua
99 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 117 in Antigua
536 reviews
2.5 mi away
The San Rafael Hotel
The San Rafael Hotel
#1 of 75 in Antigua
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earth Lodge

Address: Aldea El Hato | What3words: ///rums.juggles.adoring, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $8 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earth Lodge is a rustic retreat located about 20 minutes by car from Antigua. We are known for our intimate setting, our amazing home cooked meals and our clean comfortable rooms. Perfect for nature lovers, Earth Lodge has one of the best views in Guatemala with 3 volcanoes visible in the valley below.Earth Lodge has a full restaurant and bar, serving breakfast and lunch from menus and a family style dinner each night. We are a family friendly establishment, with a full playground and field for children to play. There is ample hiking in the surrounding farm fields, plus a wide array of board games, books and movies to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earth Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing