We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Extraordinary View"”
Review of Earth Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earth Lodge
Ranked #6 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Extraordinary View"”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I recently just came back from Guatemala on a Spanish Immersion Program... and during our visit to Guatemala we stopped in El Hato to teach the local children there... I must say that it was a joy-filled experience. After teaching, My group and I ate lunch at "Earth Lodge".... the view was soooo spectacular and the people there are soo friendly..... and an added plus.. the food is delicious!!!... Please visit whenever your in Guatemala.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durante C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    82
    20
    5
    11
See reviews for
34
160
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were at the Earth Lodge for the day, we did not spend the night. But we did take a 20 minute shuttle ride (Q20 per person) from Antigua to the end of the road where you need to walk down a steep hill to the property. My 4-year-old boys handled the walk just fine. Regarding the shuttle, our shuttles to and from the Lodge were at least 10 minutes late.
We grabbed lunch then headed down to the play area. My pesto avocado grilled cheese was delicious as well as their homemade guacamole. My husbands bacon sandwich was ok. Our kids enjoyed their fruit smoothie. Prices were reasonable.
My kids loved the play area. Where else are you going to find a play area with a view of Antigua valley and three volcanoes? It's a safe play structure with an adjacent, small sand area. Right next to it are hammocks in the shade - a perfect place for mom and dad to hang out! There are also outside toys that were available for the kids to use. We intended on being there for an hour or so and were there for most of the afternoon.
Leave your sandals or fancy shoes at home. Leave your stroller at home too. The bathrooms were decent. It's a lot warmer at the Lodge than I expected so make sure to dress in layers and remember the sunscreen. Plan to stay for the afternoon. The atmosphere is very casual and relaxing and the hammocks are conducive to lounging if the kids are having fun. The owner is very welcoming and the other guests are fun to chat with.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This place was a welcome place to recharge after all the hustle and bustle of Antigua. I came here after spending a month in Antigua and was so glad I did! The first time was just a night, but came back 2 weeks later because it was so awesome. The views are amazing, the people there are incredibly nice, and the food was delicious (probably the first time since entering Guatemala that my stomach felt normal!). It's easy to spend time relaxing undisturbed or find other traveler's to hang out with. Sometimes you can even see Volcan Fuego smoking off in the distance. I'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingYarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Great place to relax in western still ambient. The service is excellent, kitchen clean. You can walk around in the mountains, or just swing in hummock.. The library has some good English books and Lonely Planet guides of America countries.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zdekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was my second visit to Earth Lodge, and both were great experiences. The best parts:
-It is extremely close to Antigua, but is a world away. Literally a 15-minute ride up the mountain and you find yourself on the mountainside surrounded by avocado trees, amazing gardens, and an awesome view of the volcanos and the valley below. It is especially stunning at sunrise and after dark, when the valley is filled with sparkling lights from the city.
-The food is quite good overall; the vegetarian dinners are generally great. I even bought the cookbook on my first visit to recreate some of them at home. They are simple, fresh, and hearty.
-I've stayed in the A-frames and the Cabana de la Tierra. The A-frames are rustic but the bed was comfortable and they did the job. I preferred the newer cabin, which has it's own hammock and bathroom and is really spacious and beautiful.
-It's a great place to just relax for a day or two, to read, pet the resident dogs and cat, take in the view. There is hiking (which I haven't done), but other than that, there are not tons of "activities" if you are looking for that, and it's not so easy to go back and forth to Antigua. (The ride is short, but the 10-minute hike is steep and can be tricky for those not adjusted to the altitude.) But they do have activities, like music on some Sundays, and I was able to take a really relaxing and awesome yoga class with Mo one morning. It was free and within view of the volcanos and a really nice way to start the day!
-Hot showers and plenty of blankets of the beds. Key when it gets cool at night.

Some things you should know:
-It is a natural setting, which means you may find bugs in the bathroom, spiders on the path, the occasional snake on a tree, etc. The place is cleaned regularly and well kept up, but these things happen.
-Travelers come and go and hang out, and the vibe of the place can change based on who's there. I was settled outside enjoying the quiet, and a group of three settled in next to me for hours of cards and smoking. I just moved inside, away from them, but you have to be a little flexible in this way.
-As I said above, it is not the easiest journey back-and-forth to Antigua, so I recommend you come up for a few days to relax. If you want to tour Antigua, stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmb2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Earth Lodge. 12 Minutes from the super city of Antigua, Guatemala, you find nestled away on a mini mountain top, a refuge that is almost one of a kind. It works because the young family that built it, the staff that staff it, the visitors who visit it, all come together to make it a place of joy and family style relaxation. Pick one of the dozen or so hammocks, one of the many trails, the game room, the recreation area, or hang out in your extremely comfortable, immaculate, very reasonably priced casitas. The views cannot be be, the guests will be from all over the world, the food cannot be beaten by some of Antigua's finest restaurants. You will find whatever you want at The Earth Lodge, and you will meet some fantastic new friends.

Room Tip: You really cannot go wrong, whether you want a simple clean room for one, a beautiful two bed area f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidADean1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, great surrounds, great accomodation, great food. The staff are really friendly. The views are stunning. When budgeting for this, bear in mind there are no stores around; each meal will cost at least Q30 (& dinner will be at least Q65) and they will add a 10% service charge to everything (even if you go and get a drink from the bar yourself). There is no kitchen you can use. The food was truly fantastic. Great place to relax and recharge the batteries for a few days.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brihavey, Owner at Earth Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Earth Lodge. We are in a very remote location, and we are not a budget hotel so thank you for mentioning both of those things as it is important for other travelers to be aware of these points. I do want to clarify that we only charge 10% service on the food, not on the drinks or accommodation. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
2.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
301 reviews
2.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#5 of 105 in Antigua
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earth Lodge

Property: Earth Lodge
Address: Aldea El Hato, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earth Lodge is a rustic retreat located about 20 minutes by car from Antigua. We are known for our intimate setting, our amazing home cooked meals and our clean comfortable rooms. Perfect for nature lovers, Earth Lodge has one of the best views in Guatemala with 3 volcanoes visible in the valley below.Earth Lodge has a full restaurant and bar, serving breakfast and lunch from menus and a family style dinner each night. We are a family friendly establishment, with a full playground and field for children to play. There is ample hiking in the surrounding farm fields, plus a wide array of board games, books and movies to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earth Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing