We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a day visit”
Review of Earth Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earth Lodge
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a hip destination for hippies and those searching for a day out of Antigua. Great views and fun games around the property. The housing however was dirty and smelled like mold. We ended up pulling the mattress out to the deck to sleep until it began to rain. Due to the isolation the establishment also ensures you will have to buy all meals from them which are tasty but considerably more expensive than in town. We were going to stay 3 nights but left after 2 (couldn't cancel our 2nd night due to needing 24 hr notice to do so.)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FL1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brihavey, Owner at Earth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of Earth Lodge, we are sorry you didn't fully enjoy your stay. It is very unfortunate that you didn't simply tell us about the room, we would've been happy to move you to another room and clean the room you were in if you thought it was not clean. Unfortunately this time of year due to the rain, things tend to get a bit musty, but we try to remedy this as soon as we know. We always strive to make our guests happy and communication from our guests is vital in order to do this. Our food is more expensive than Antigua for sure, but we are not trying to compete with the local restaurants and due to our remote location, things simply cost more to get here.
We will take your comments about the room into consideration, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced. I was so pleased with the vegetarian selections! And the baked goods. And the bar! The beds were extremely comfortable - and I stayed in the dorm. Worth going even just for the day / evening for food and views. 9.5/10

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend at Earth Lodge after a crazy week in Guatemala City. It was a great experience overall- the staff were all very friendly and were very patient through an extended correspondence to make my reservation. Everything was very organized, beautiful setting, great hiking trails just up the hill, delicious food, friendly crowd, and super clean housing and bathrooms. My favorite part was the family style dinners; travelling alone it was easy to meet and chat with people.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tree cabin one night and one of the canopy cabins the other night- both of which wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved the tree cabin. Earthlodge is theeeee spot! Love the sauna, the view, the people, the games. Everything. Just be careful not to leave your bag of chips open in the room as you are in the middle if nature and crazy ants. Everythjng else is theeeee bomb.

Room Tip: Deluxe tree cabin!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

What an amazing place. First off, it's a bit rustic and a bit of a bohemian vibe. Odds are you have made your way to Antigua to leave the rat race behind? Then you should add this as a place to stay while in town. There are tons of hammocks to lay around, have a few drinks at the well stocked and affordable bar. Dinners are family style, so you will make a few friends.Take in the amazing views of Antigua down below in the day and night. I stayed in the Tree House, and they were adding a shower below with Hot water while I was there, but alas I had only a cold shower to cleanse myself. The room is tight, The bed & bedding are a bit suspect, but that view.... and you are in a tree! I made the stupid mistake of booking a flight up to Tikal the next day which meant I had to be up and hike out before sunrise, but someone at the Earthlodge hooked me up and arranged transportation.

Room Tip: This isn't the type of place you wheel your luggage into. It has a steep hike down and up when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I cannot speak too highly of Earth Lodge! It is a must stay if you are in Antigua. The scenery is breathtaking and there is an abundance of hammocks, deck chairs and picnic tables to appreciate it from. The food was healthy and delicious and the 'family style' dinners create a lovely atmosphere among everyone. The staff, volunteers and owners are helpful, friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean, comfortable and quite unique. Earth Lodge is well maintained and the owners passion for Guatemala and their hostel rubs off on its guests making it an excellent experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Stay in the tree house! Awesome.There is a lovely park for children and a very nice vibe. We felt welcome and our children felt welcome. Very well done and great value. The sauna is worth stoking for sure. Long hike in so don't take too much stuff!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
2.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
2.9 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 75 in Antigua
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earth Lodge

Address: Aldea El Hato | What3words: ///rums.juggles.adoring, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $8 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earth Lodge is a rustic retreat located about 20 minutes by car from Antigua. We are known for our intimate setting, our amazing home cooked meals and our clean comfortable rooms. Perfect for nature lovers, Earth Lodge has one of the best views in Guatemala with 3 volcanoes visible in the valley below.Earth Lodge has a full restaurant and bar, serving breakfast and lunch from menus and a family style dinner each night. We are a family friendly establishment, with a full playground and field for children to play. There is ample hiking in the surrounding farm fields, plus a wide array of board games, books and movies to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earth Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing