We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, friendly accomodating staff.”
Review of Hostal Las Marias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Las Marias
Ranked #7 of 129 Antigua B&B and Inns
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, friendly accomodating staff.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This is honestly one of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed in. Being a new resident of Guatemala I have stayed on many and have to say this is one of the best. It is clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful and we had no problems whatsoever during our 3 day stay here.

On our second night we asked for another bottle of water as we had finished ours and were given a massive jug of drinking water for free (from the eco filter located in the courtyard).

As other reviewers have said the staff do not speak english but why should they? This is a Spanish speaking country so learn sufficient Spanish to make your stay easier. The hotel is located in a gated community which does cause some late night frustration when trying to access the hotel, but with some forethought this can be avoided.

This is a beautiful hotel and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Siidney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    65
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
89
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

+ve:
Staff are very friendly, nice decor in rooms, bed is comfortable.
Breakfast was nice and fresh. Normally only from 7:30am, however on three occasions we told them the man at the desk that we had a trip leaving at 6am and he was kind enough to personally get up early to put breakfast out at 5:30am for us!
The location is good and not so good depending on what you want. It is a 5 minute walk from the centre of the town, but that also means that you don’t get [incredibly loud] chicken buses, beeping horns etc at 5-6am. It is a pretty safe area though, and staff will call you a tuk-tuk if you so wish.


-ve:
Staff don't speak English - only the manager does, but she isn't there often.
Pillows are average, Internet is very slow.
Rooms all front a central courtyard - very noisy in the morning when guests get up early and make noise and talk.
My biggest area of frustration was something they really need to address. The hotel is inside a gated community, with a part-time security guard out the front. We arrived late and there is no buzzer/intercom for the hotel, so the only reason we could get into the property was because our bus driver was kind enough to use his phone, as nobody could hear us banging on the gates!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel but a bit away from the center of town. It is close to the mercado, but at least 8 blocks from the parque central. The rooms are good size and well furnished. Breakfast is included.
Great common area and awesome patio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felizmujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stated (a party of 11) during our visit to Antigua and we were pleased, we selected this hostel according to reviews and we weren't dissapointed. Service was great, rooms clean, breakfast good, and atmosphere peaceful. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennstdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Likes: more like a boutique hotel than hostel, amazing rooms beautiful decor and amazing architecture.  Located 10 min walk from Central Park.  Very secure. Excellent staff. Breakfast very good. Inner courtyard very relaxing

Dislikes : inadequate wifi, needed to go into the town and find a wifi cafe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Hostal las Marias for 3 nights in August. After Sunday, we were the only guests left at the hostal perhaps because of the low travel season during Guatemalan winter. We stayed in the suite which was beautiful. Each night we were provided with firewood and each morning we were prepared a fresh breakfast by one of the women on staff. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful. We'll be back soon!
Nos hospedamos en Hostal las Marias por 3 noches en agosto. Despues del domingo fuimos los unicos huespedes ahi...probablemente porque no es la temporada de viajar a Antigua. Nos quedamos en el suite. Es muy linda. Cada dia nos daban leña para la chiminea y cada mañana nos preparaban desayuno. Todos eran muy amables y bien serviciales. Regresaremos pronto!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moraleskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were four families traveling to Antigua together. We had a great time, and felt at home. People were really helpful, friendly, willing. All of us loved the hotel and commented how cozy and home-like it is. It´s distribution is very much like Antigua, the plants in the center patio are gorgeus! It is really beautiful, cozy, friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilardemartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 75 in Antigua
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Marias

Property: Hostal Las Marias
Address: Calle a San Bartolo | Las Jacarandas #7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Marias 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Las Marias is a hotel with a mixture of style Colonial folklore of Guatemala and today's comfort facilities. We are located in a quiet area of the city of Antigua, away from city center's noisy movement but a few blocks from the Central Park. Hostal Las Marias is a ten- room family-owned, the rooms are arranged around a garden courtyard and are comfortably furnished with private baths and cable TV. Each room is decorated with carefully selected hand craft details from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Las Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing