We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, friendly, safe, and peaceful”
Review of Hostal Las Marias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Las Marias
Ranked #6 of 131 Antigua B&B and Inns
San Salvador
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, friendly, safe, and peaceful”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've stayed here several times, and each time the experience has been excellent. The staff are all very friendly and efficient, the rooms are very nicely decorated, and the breakfast is good. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk outside of the town centre, but I would consider this a good thing - it is away from the noise of the bars there, and the rooms are located around a quiet central courtyard.

Room Tip: I've stayed here several times and the rooms have always been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    65
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
89
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The staff at this hotel are really friendly. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is nice. Negatives are the hotel is a bit far from the main square and you walk along a deserted road at night towards the cemetary. It seemed safe enough but I would not walk alone at night. Also the walls are very thin and we could hear the people next door showering and using the toilet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hostal Las Marias is a small, well run and well maintained hotel. We stayed in the suite and it was clean, comfortable and very inviting. The shower was the BEST I have ever experienced anywhere - in fact we were there only 24 hours and I took 2 showers! Lots of hot water and great water pressure. Some of the other rooms looked a bit small, but still very clean & attractive. Our rate of $70 included all taxes and a wonderful breakfast. Cereal, milk, juice & toast were out and the owner offered us a choice of a fresh fruit plate or eggs & beans. We chose the eggs & beans and they were delicious!! I am not a bean fan, so I was very happy when the beans came on the side and not mixed in with the eggs. The hotel is within walking distance of the market, Central Park and other shops & restaurants. We were advised not to walk after dark, so the owners called a taxi for us. Only $5 for a ride anywhere in Antigua! Be sure to have the hotel call the taxi - they know who the reputable & safe ones are.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belong58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My son and I stayed here for the first couple of days of our trip to Guatemala and it was the perfect place to start the holiday. I arrived late at night to join my son so Monica arranged for a taxi to meet me at the airport and take me out to Antigua. Breakfast was lovely with wonderful fresh coffee and such a choice of food. The rooms were really comfortable and everything really clean. The hostal is also wonderfully close to the market and only a short walk to the center of town. This has to be the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeb1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed before and during Semana Santa. It was so peaceful, a haven to return to after the passion and excitement of the processions. The hotel staff were friendly, obliging and the hotel reflected their attention to the detail of their work. The owner demonstrated huge commitment to providing excellent service. The only bad thing was leaving!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aroethel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were hit hard with food poisoning from a restaurant in town and spent 2 days of our trip sick here. The staff was so accommodating and helpful and bent over backwards to make us comfortable. The rooms are comfortable and inviting when you aren't sick, and served us well during our recovery. The location away from the city center provides a quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshallberg, NC USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Las Marias is THE place to stay in Antigua. My friend and I just spent 12 nights at the Las Marias Hostal. Without fail, our every need was met. My friend and I are mature ladies who have lots of worldwide travel under our belts and we rate this trip as a 10+. Monica and her staff are excellent. Any request made for travel arrangements to other areas as well as locally were met immediately. The breakfasts were wonderful and bountiful. Located in a quiet area behind locked gates the Las Marias is a very safe and convienent. Lots of hot water for great showers. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClydaLutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#39 of 75 in Antigua
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Marias

Property: Hostal Las Marias
Address: Calle a San Bartolo | Las Jacarandas #7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Marias 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Las Marias is a hotel with a mixture of style Colonial folklore of Guatemala and today's comfort facilities. We are located in a quiet area of the city of Antigua, away from city center's noisy movement but a few blocks from the Central Park. Hostal Las Marias is a ten- room family-owned, the rooms are arranged around a garden courtyard and are comfortably furnished with private baths and cable TV. Each room is decorated with carefully selected hand craft details from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Las Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing