We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, comfortable rooms and friendly staff!”
Review of Hotel Lo De Bernal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lo De Bernal
Ranked #6 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent a total of three nights at this hotel and really liked the comfortable beds and clean rooms. Our room was on the main level, but it was not noisy at all (nope, no rooster or barking dogs!!!). Breakfast was served every morning with some breads, fruit salad, juice and coffee, which was fine for us. The location was perfect, only two blocks from some of the main attractions in this amazing town. Staff were very friendly as well. The only "minus" I have for this place is that the rooms were a bit smallish for the price, but once again, they were super clean and comfortable. Antigua is such a great place to visit, we wish we could have stayed longer!! I recommend Hotel Lo De Bernal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucky1ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the best stay at hotel lo de bernal. We were only there for 2 night but had been staying in some more basic hotels so this was such a nice treat. The rooms were clean and comfortable with nice touches. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to the main park and square. However, what really made the hotel were the staff, they are so kind and helpful. They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, nothing was too much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Small hotel, rooms are nice, if you can choose, choose second floor, first is noisy. Is 2 blocks away main street, so you can walk everywere. Breakfast is not really breakfast, just eggs ans cereal, but you can easily find something to eat in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel is very nice and in a good location you walk 7 blocks to the main strip where all the bars and clubs are. Wont be necessary for a taxi I didn't take one while there for a weekend. If your going to Antigua stay at this spot its a safe neighborhood. Don't use the tour guides the hotel provides its bit of a rip off but if your there to party and drink Mono Loco is 2.5 blocks right then 5 blocks right.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJetsonFromHarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

They have the most confortable beds I have ever slept in!! Also the hotel is very cozy and well located, near the Calle del Arco. I would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen_Fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night in January at the end of our trip, when we unexpectedly decided to come back to Antigua and our original hotel was booked up. We weren't expecting much, but I was quite surprised by how nice it was given the rate. I didn't hear the roosters that previous reviewers complained of, in fact, I slept better here than at Posada de Don Rodrigo due to it's slightly less central location and no traffic noise.

Postives
Small inn with boutique feel, including cute courtyard on both lower and upper levels.
Staff spoke enough English that it was never awkward.
Nice sized rooms, comfy beds, impecabbly clean, modern amenities but with quaint Guatemalan charm like wood beams.
Wifi that always worked, even on the second level, farthest from lobby.
Negatives
No bathtub - not a big deal if you like showers, and the showers were capable of getting HOT!
Close to the arch, but 10 minute walk to central park - which isn't a big deal as Antigua is such a picturesque town to walk in anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AureliaDifani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I'm sitting at the lobby waiting for our ride back to the airport and I am still in awe of this hotel and the beauty and charm of Antigua.

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and not once were we bothered by noise. This is a very quaint B&B. Only 9 rooms and very private. The staff were excellent and ready to answer and help us in any way despite our "poquito" Espanol.

Our room (103) was a bit small but this did not bother me or my partner at all. Though the bathroom did not have a tub, the shower area was roomy and hot water abundant! We slept peacefully and the beddings were very comfortable.

Breakfast was adequate. Fresh fruits and made to order eggs (for an extra $1 and well worth it!) coupled with toast and Guatemalan coffee (yum!) or tea. We suggest adding other fruit varieties for breakfast though. Room service is available but we chose to venture out for dinner to local restaurants. Try the La Merced Panaderia by the way for fresh empanadas and bread! The panaderia is about 2 blocks away from the hotel in front of the La Merced church.

Lo De Bernal was a fantastic choice for us!!

Cheers and enjoy your stay here!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#20 of 75 in Antigua
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lo De Bernal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lo De Bernal

Address: 1a Calle Poniente # 23, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: $64 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lo De Bernal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful bed and breakfast located in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, steps away from La Merced Church and Santa Clara Convent offers 9 comfort and private rooms with all the amenities needed to make your travel uncomplicated. Enjoy breakfast at our comfortable dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lo De Bernal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing