We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money, a "nice enough" hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Luna
Ranked #27 of 130 Antigua B&B and Inns
World CItizens
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good value for the money, a "nice enough" hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Things I like about Casa Luna Hotel in Antigua, Guatemala:

Good value for $17/night.

The owner, Victor, is very nice and is very helpful. He can connect you with anyone or any tour and arrange whatever tours you may need. He is also just a nice guy.

Casa Luna has a warm (not necessarily hot, but warm) shower. The rooms are inexpensive, and the beds (at least in the room we were in) are comfortable. The rooms at Casa Luna also have TV’s (not that we eve turned ours on), but we know that Casa Luna gets US TV channels because we could hear CNN and other American programming coming into our room from other neighboring rooms.

What we didn’t like about Casa Luna:

- We could hear the television from at least two other rooms.

- Our window was facing into the courtyard and was the slatted blind glass style of windows. (Who invented these ridiculous windows? They have more moving parts so they break easier and don’t close completely.) So we heard everyone coming/going from the hotel as well as the computer in the courtyard area. Additionally, the courtyard acted as sort of a reflector tube for all the sounds coming from the streets including tubas, fireworks, dogs barking, roosters doing their thing, and morning church bells.

- Also, the shower (at least the shared shower) at Casa Luna has a shower head which turns the streams of water into tiny forceful streams, despite all attempts to adjust the pressure. It’s not so painful that you can’t take a shower, but made me not stay in the shower any longer than necessary.

Overall, my opinion of Casa Luna Hotel is that $17/night is really hard to beat for a private room with comfortable beds in Antigua with a shared bathroom that’s only shared with a couple other people. The staff are nice and very helpful.

If you’re a deep sleeper, have earplugs, or are fine being awake by 7:30 AM, Casa Luna in Antigua is probably a good choice for you if you’re traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieandjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
27
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

If you're touring off season, and you arrive in the daytime, just take a walk around the Central Park area and you'll find several reasonably priced hotels. I found a wonderful option at Casa Antigua, where I got a double-occupancy room for cheap (you can bargain off the rate - card if there are open rooms). The hotel is clean, quiet, and near all the town attractions. Plus, it's got a secret rooftop patio that's great for reading - can you find it?

By the way - if you're up for some delicious apps & drinks, head down to the Ocelot Bar on the other side of Central Park. If the property owner's there mention Casa Antigua...he might just hook you up with a shot. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here twice on a recent trip to Guatemala, just after arriving in the country and again the night before we departed. Mario was most helpful with everything we needed, including arranging a taxi from and a shuttle back to the airport, a Pacaya trip, and advice on all things Antigua. He clearly loves his city and is happy to explain its traditions, in Spanish or English. He was prompt answering emails and clear about the rooms' amenities.

We stayed in two different rooms, one with and one without a private bathroom. Both were big enough and quite comfortable and included cable TV and an amazing amount of built-in storage space, with charming details (ceiling beams, a view of La Merced) that we hadn't expected for the price. The shared bathroom was just as nice and clean as the private one, and I believe it was shared with only one other room. The street is conveniently located, safe, and probably quieter than most other places in Antigua, a bit northwest of the center but easily walkable. Very close to La Merced, the prettiest of the churches in town.

At the airport, I was horrified to discover my room keys in my pocket, which I had forgotten to hand over and Mario had forgotten to ask for before the shuttle arrived. (We were too busy chatting, yet again.) When I wrote to apologize after I returned home, he was most gracious and understanding. I hope to be able to make it up to him on my next visit to Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougherucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

We really enjoyed using Casa Luna as our "home base" in Guatemala as we explored the vast natural resources of this wonderful country. Mario is delightful and was very accommodating for our requests. The rooms are fine-- the location terrific .. just a block or two from Merced. The free internet is a plus -- as is the fine crepe cafe just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

We arrived on a Friday afternoon without a reservation and got a clean room with twin beds, shared bath and cable tv for Q120 (about $15). There are also larger double and triple rooms with private bath that were going for Q200, including a rooftop room. There is a computer with internet and a kitchen both free for guests. Casa Luna is 1-1/2 blocks from La Merced and a short walk to the Parque Central. Mario, the manager, is very friendly, speaks excellent English and arranged for a shuttle to pick us up in the morning to go to the airport. It's not fancy, but it is clean and has all the necessities, along with a certain charm. What more do you need?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsteelboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coban
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

A friend recommended this hotel and we arrived on a Sunday afternoon without booking. Luckily they had a room free.

The man at the reception area was really friendly and although our Spanish is good he speaks very good english.

Our room was large with a double bed and a single and a private bathroom. Also a nice view to the church. All nice and clean and very comfortable. It also had a TV with cable and the area is very quite, except for the occasional fire crackers going off outside.... unavoidable in Guatemala!

The hotel is only a few miutes walk from the centre of Antigua but there are also a couple of nice bars and restaurants close by. They do not supply breakfast but there are loads of places in Antigua to eat.

We've been to Antigua 3 times in the last 6 months and wish we had discovered Casa Luna the first time! Highly recommeded although i would try and book if you are arriving on a Friday or Saturday as i think they only have 4 rooms, 2 of which share a bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

I loved this place! Look, it's not a fancy boutique hotel, and it's not priced like one, either. But for a long term traveler like me, it's the best deal in Antigua. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly. The rooms are well appointed and include cable TV, WiFi and great beds. There's a computer available for guest use. There is a kitchen! And a dining room! You're easy walking distance to the market where you'll find some of the best produce in Central America, dirt cheap. Bring it all back to the hotel and make your own feast. The owner, Mario, lives on premise, speaks great English, can book any kind of travel, and is just super friendly and helpful all around. The hotel is small so noise was never a problem, and it's centrally located on a quiet street, so it's easy to walk everywhere in Antigua safely. You just can't get this combination anywhere else in Antigua without paying a whole lot more. If you want quiet, clean, safe and central in Antigua without a lot of frills and without the high costs, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#47 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Luna

Property: Hotel Casa Luna
Address: Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Luna is a converted colonial house in a safe, central location, four blocks from Antigua's Central Park but quiet and residential. There are rooms with private bath and rooms with shared bath, all with hot water and cable TV. There is a shared kitchen and dining area for guests. Includes free wi-fi with computers available for use. Travel agency on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing