We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Hotel Casa Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Luna
Ranked #23 of 128 Antigua B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a spotless, spacious ensuite double room with hot water shower at the right price that did the trick. The diligent cleaning lady keeps the place spick and span and the facilities were more than sufficient for our needs. What really made our stay was the super helpful owner, Mario. Full of information, tips and suggestions, he even helped us buy some textiles at the market. We encouraged him to become a city guide because he really knows his way around. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
27
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our upstairs retreat soon became our home away from home. Cleaned daily with fresh linens, full kitchen use, and great location, Casa Luna simply feels good. It is competitively priced (Q180-225 for a double) and the owner Mario will kindly answer any questions and set up transportation to near and far destinations. The best eats in Antigua we found right around the corner. The owner Claudio and his wife run a small eatery on the same block as the coffee house on the corner. Just head towards downtown from the coffee house and it will be on your left. Open for lunch and dinners. Name unknown.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FL1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We ended up here on a wim after being turned down at several hostels reccomended in our guide because they were completly full, and couldn´t have been happier! The owner here is really nice and helpful and was always willing to answer any questions we had about Antigua or tours etc. The room was really clean and an excellent value for Antigua. Having a kitchen was also great. Highly recomend this place for anyone looking for a room in Antigua. If I ever find myself in the city again I will definately come back here! Location was also great. Only a 10 minute walk or less to Parque Central, and even closer to really nice cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tucked away a littte alleyway near La Merced Cathedral is this sweet little hotel.
Mario, the owner is THE nicest, most helpful person who really makes this place great. We cannot say enough about how much information he provided, trips he booked for us and spoke fantastic English which was helpful too.
We had a room with private bath the bed was massive and comfortable, the room was very very clean.
We were here for Holy week which meant it was extremely busy in Antigua we were very lucky to find accommodation in a short amount of time. The kitchen is for everybody to use and the hotel is in a really great location, Walking distance to the main street with heaps of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bectrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this room last minute for the busy time of Semana Santa, so I was not expecting much. But I was very happily surprised with the beautiful room, which was on the rooftop, meaning we had this lovely terrace to ourselves looking out over the volcanoes surrounding the beautiful city. The room was cleaned every day, and the private bathroom attached to it as well.
The wifi was good, although only seemed to work with one computor at once. The owner is fluent in English and very friendly. He helped us grab our shuttle in the very early morning. The hotel is situated right by the Merced, and there are really great places to eat and drink around. We couldn't have been happier, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the roof: Pretty and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey York Co
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Luna, about three weeks after we had stayed next door at Casa Cristina. The owner, Mario, is super-helpful, speaks English and operates a tour business, from which we arranged bus and shuttle trips to Chichicastenengo, Lake Atitlan, and Tikal, via Guatemala City. His casa has 3 rooms, we took the one with a private bath. It had wi-fi, a king-sized (very firm) bed, hot water in the shower and a single and cable tv. It was spotlessly clean, although a bit too warm and with no fan, but that's a minor complaint. There was not a roof-top patio but use of a kitchen downstairs. The location is great, on a quiet street just around the corner from La Merced and about a 10-minute walk to the central plaza. His rates were about $25 a night, compared to the the $38 we paid at Casa Cristina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in Casa Luna all together about two months. First with a friend in an upstairs room with shared bathroom and then by myself in a downstairs room with a private bathrooms. Both rooms were excellent if a bit dark. The room with shared bathroom shares it only with one other room so there is no waiting in a line. There is a kitchen for all the guests to use which is excellent for those who like to make their own meals. Marina, who works there, keeps the place impeccably clean.

The location of Casa Luna is really good. Being on a small lane it is very quiet and there are no loud bars nearby. The neighborhood is safe and within walking distance from everywhere. Mario is the best host a traveler could ask for. He has a lot of knowledge and speaks perfect English which makes it easier for those of us whose Spanish isn't fluent enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#25 of 76 in Antigua
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#44 of 76 in Antigua
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 76 in Antigua
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#41 of 76 in Antigua
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 76 in Antigua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Luna

Property: Hotel Casa Luna
Address: Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Luna is a converted colonial house in a safe, central location, four blocks from Antigua's Central Park but quiet and residential. There are rooms with private bath and rooms with shared bath, all with hot water and cable TV. There is a shared kitchen and dining area for guests. Includes free wi-fi with computers available for use. Travel agency on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing