We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small, quiet and very safe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Luna
Ranked #27 of 126 Antigua B&B and Inns
Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“small, quiet and very safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in Casa Luna all together about two months. First with a friend in an upstairs room with shared bathroom and then by myself in a downstairs room with a private bathrooms. Both rooms were excellent if a bit dark. The room with shared bathroom shares it only with one other room so there is no waiting in a line. There is a kitchen for all the guests to use which is excellent for those who like to make their own meals. Marina, who works there, keeps the place impeccably clean.

The location of Casa Luna is really good. Being on a small lane it is very quiet and there are no loud bars nearby. The neighborhood is safe and within walking distance from everywhere. Mario is the best host a traveler could ask for. He has a lot of knowledge and speaks perfect English which makes it easier for those of us whose Spanish isn't fluent enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
26
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've only just left Casa Luna after staying there for 3 nights and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a base to explore. It's only a couple of streets out of the centre and a few minutes from 'Arch' street which has many restaurants and shops. The street itself is very Quiet, theres a small shop on the corner and a nice place for breakfast/generally to eat called Federicos.

Mario the owner is extremely helpful, he has a small tour company and can organise anything you want. He organised transport to and from the airport at a very good price and also our transport to lake Atitlan, but as I say if you want tours etc he's your man.

We stayed in a room with a private bathroom which had a kingsize bed and a single. Very clean but basic, which was fine with us as we spent most of our time exploring beautiful Antigua. The rooms are also very reasonably priced.

Website is www.hotelcasaluna.es.tl
Email casalunahotel@gmail.com
Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r8skf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although we normally look after ourselves we were having a lot of trouble trying to book a bus from Antigua to Belize City and finally realised it was necessary to use the services of a travel agent. I got a quote from a random agency in town but didn't really trust them to do the best job for the best price so I found Casa Luna on here & saw positive reviews about Mario and paid him a visit. He knew exactly what was needed, immediately obtained a quote and undercut the other agency by more than $20 each. He then spent about 30 minutes making phone calls trying to organise tickets for us at short notice, paid for them and picked them up himself while we went to draw out some cash. Everything worked out perfectly and we got to Belize exactly as planned. Very impressed by the excellent service offered by Mario, and I would recommend him highly to others, he really went out of his way to help us and at a very reasonable cost. (Perfect English too!)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShakkaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had a great time staying there and would defiinitely recommend it.

It's a simple hotel, but it has all you need for a good sleep. The rooms are clean, it's a pretty small place, so it is quiet. The beds are comfortable. There is wi-fi everywhere in the rooms. There is hot water for the shower.

The place is not extremely central, but it doesn't really matter actually it's even an advantage so you can have less expensive places around to eat.

The owner is of a great help and very friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you like something simple and clean. I had a single room with a shared bathroom and paid 110 Quetzales. The place is quiet and clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful. When I stayed there was no breakfast service yet (you don't need it as there are enough options around Casa Luna), but later this year he would start offering breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreekAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just finished staying at Casa Luna for several nights and am happy we did. It is a smallish, simple hotel - definitely nothing fancy but everything you need (wifi, hot showers, access to the kitchen...) and on top of this the place is super clean. Owner Mario is a great host and very helpful with travel bookings and advice as well. Also, the location is great, down a quiet side street away from the hustle, but right by La Merced and a short walk to everything else. Definitely recommend for a safe, clean hospitable place to crash.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krobtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I read reviews of this place on Trip Advisor and almost couldn't find it. I'm so glad I finally did and you will be too. So, first of all, the address is Callejon Camposeco (written as Campo Seco in my guide book) and it's between 6 and 7 Avenida Norte. The phone number is 7832-4624 or 7882-4456. This is a convenient, yet ever so slightly off the beaten path, location...in other words, it's a very quick walk to anywhere you want to go in Antigua but it's not on the same block as any bars or restaurants.

My room was clean, nice, and spacious. There was a good wifi signal, which was important for me. I got a room with a shared bathroom, which was also kept clean (only shared with one other room, which was empty during most of my stay so it was more like a private bathroom). The price was great ($110 Q for 1 person).

As everyone else has mentioned, Mario is a very kind, honest, and helpful man. He will answer all your questions. He arranged a trip to Pacaya and a minibus to Panajachel. His travel services are great - I met others who had a lot of hassle with their travel situation and everything was smooth and affordable for me. When Mario wasn't around, the woman who works there and does the cleaning is also very very kind and helpful (and did a wonderful job of trying to interpret my gringa Spanish).

I highly recommend Casa Luna if you are looking for something clean, comfortable, restful, and affordable, owned by a local who is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sillysarahc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#55 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#36 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#44 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Encuentros
Hotel Los Encuentros
#15 of 126 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Luna

Property: Hotel Casa Luna
Address: Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Luna is a converted colonial house in a safe, central location, four blocks from Antigua's Central Park but quiet and residential. There are rooms with private bath and rooms with shared bath, all with hot water and cable TV. There is a shared kitchen and dining area for guests. Includes free wi-fi with computers available for use. Travel agency on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing