We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more rooms than a hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Luna
Ranked #29 of 134 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2012

very good value and Marco is super friendly but it needs thicker walls.also you live in his house not separate. very central for the language schools.safe.

Room Tip: with bath is better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

My sister and I decided to come to Guatemala over Thanksgiving and we booked this hotel at the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here in the past. The owner is great, happy and patient to those of us with limited Spanish.This is not a super luxurious hotel but not everyone is looking for that or can afford that. The location is good, the hotel is clean and has warm but not hot showers. The beds were not great but fine for a short trip. The owner helped us with transportation which was really helpful. The place could become a bit noisy too early in the morning for my taste but overall a nice little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I moved here for my final nights in Antigua after the place I was in didn't have availability for my extended stay. The room was v large and had natural light with a window. It was on the back and quiet for sleeping which was a bonus. Apparently there was a roof terrace but it was being refurbished. I wasn't there long enough to need any info about touirs of anything but there was something a little odd about the place - I never saw other guests but did hear someone having a row with the owner. The original price quoted was higher than Casa Cristina next door which it doens't warrent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

There are not enough positive things I can say about Casa Luna! Mario and his staff are wonderful,genuine people who make you feel like family. Mario arranged all the tours for me including a visit to the volcano pecaya, transportation to lake Atitlan and Flores to see Tikal. As a woman traveling in a foreign country alone, safety is very important. Mario arranged for all the transportation to be safe, provided by people he works with on a regular basis. Mario also invited me to his home on Christmas eve and his family is as wonderful as he is. Because he lived in the US for many years before returning to his native Guatemala, he speaks perfect English and his quite familiar with other cultures. The rooms in casa Luna are very clean, there is plenty of storage space and there are hot showers ( not the easiest thing to find in Guatemala). I would recommend this place to anyone and I'm looking forward to bringing my family there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in February. If you want a clean, cheap accommodation, good location and a helpful and friendly owner; this is the place to be. If you expect a 5 star hotel, look elsewhere. Mario is just a great guy. He has a lot of knowledge about the city and he can help to arrange tours and transportation. There is also wifi and a kitchen if you wanna make your own food. We were suppose to stay for 2 nights, but ended up staying for a week. Staying with him is reason enough to select this B&B. We´ll definitely come back, if we´re ever in Antigua. Thanks Mario!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs room if it´s available!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siljemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very nice hostel in Antigua.
Mario, the manager, is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are a bit dark but comfortable, and the bathroom is clean. Nice hot shower (a great thing coming from Nicaragua!) with a clean electric heater.

A bit far away from the center - which is not a bad thing at the end - and close to Iglesia La Merced.
Would definitely come back to that place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinaloa237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This place doesn't have a ton of frills, but the owner is great. We had a great experience there and were plenty comfortable. The "suicide shower" the previous reviewer wrote about is the electric heated shower, which is one of the nicest I've seen in the years I've spent in Latin America. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need which is a nice change from the hostels that want you to eat at their restaurant.

Mario was up for our 3:30am departure to get to the Guatemala City Airport - that he arranged for definitely the best price we found in town. Wireless worked well. Overall, good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#65 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 112 in Antigua
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#42 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Luna

Address: Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: $15 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Luna is a converted colonial house in a safe, central location, four blocks from Antigua's Central Park but quiet and residential. There are rooms with private bath and rooms with shared bath, all with hot water and cable TV. There is a shared kitchen and dining area for guests. Includes free wi-fi with computers available for use. Travel agency on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing