We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming colonial atmosphere in a world apart”
Review of Hotel Los Pasos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Los Pasos
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel Los Pasos delivers your fantasy of the quiet courtyards, aged stone, exuberant foliage and charm of colonial Guatemalan architecture. Converted from at least one colonial house, the hotel feels like a home. The rooms are arranged around and open into two courtyards where fountains splash. Meals are in the garden or in the verandas or in the stunning dining room. A staircase winds up to the roof. It looks out to the volcanoes and over the rooftops of Antigua. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. Because of the way the rooms open into the courtyards, sounds travel, but that is part of the charm. The bathrooms are superbly designed with tile and ambiance galore. The neighborhood is quiet It’s a short walk to the atmospheric church ruins and central park and restaurants. We stayed 3 nights and will go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 247 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent five days at Los Pasos and enjoyed every moment. The hotel is located in a historical (close to 500 year old) building some 10 minute walk from the Plaza Central. Quiet neighborhood.

Most friendly service. Nice restaurant with room service. Rooms are spacious and stylishly decorated with local antiques and textiles. Beautiful and spacious bathrooms. Very quiet place ensuring good sleep. Beautiful garden and landscaping.

No heaters, aircons or fans in the rooms. WI-Fi works well at public areas, but no or very erratic signal at some rooms.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This quaint and cozy hotel was the ideal place to spend our one-week stay in Antigua while site seeing, exploring Antigua and attending a friend's wedding. Service was friendly and excellent, the included breakfast was a nice surprise (although the repeated 2 choices were delicious, a bit more variety would have been welcomed), the bed was comfortable, and the bath was adequate. Rooms were made up in good time, and were very clean. While most of the time it was serenely quiet, limited construction went into the evening hours some nights, which was not as condicive to the otherwise lovely ambiance. The facility itself is in keeping with the colonial city and is a comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: For an upscale vacation you might want to choose a suite or double bed room, but for a nice place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachly271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights at Hotel Los Pasos over the New Year holiday. I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel is a little on the pricier end for me (we paid $120/night) but this place could easily charge double that. The rooms are beautiful as are the bathrooms with spas. It does get a bit chilly at night, but the warm blankets make sleeping quite comfortable.

Additionally, breakfast is provided daily and is served restaurant-style. Be prepared to be waited on hand and foot here - - we were even able to have our tours arranged to Pacaya and Lago Atitlan by Christian upon our arrival. The hotel is a couple of extra blocks out of the main square of town, but this certainly helped us have a peaceful night's sleep.

Did I mention I was there for my birthday and the hotel put a birthday cake in the room as a surprise for me? :) This place has the best service ever.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here by myself and got put up in a double room. I really enjoyed my stay and the beautiful courtyard of this hotel. The only reason why I have given it 4 out of 5 is that I was a but chilly at night. The hotel didn't have a heating system (I was here end of Nov and I think that most of hotels in Antigua haven't got heating). So if you get cold easily, pack some warm PJs

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent several nights at this hotel while traveling with a tour company (Overseas Adventure Travel). The hotel is a converted Colonial home with two stories of rooms around two courtyards. There is a small dining room downstairs, but meals are also served in the courtyard or on the roof terrace which has a great view of the three volcanoes located around the city. You can also have wine served on the terrace.
My room was small but cozy with a comfortable bed, wardrobe, small sitting area and private bath. However, I only had one small window so the room was quite dark. Everything was clean. They do offer a basket of snacks at the usual inflated prices.
The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. The wifi is a bit erratic, I could not get access from my room, but could from the sitting area outside one of my friends' rooms or from the area near the front desk. The restaurant doesn't have an extensive menu, but there were several choices for breakfast and everything was well cooked.
The hotel is located on a quiet street, several blocks from the main square of Antigua. It is quite easy to walk into town, but taxis are available if needed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with an outdoor seating area on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CulverCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed as part of our honey moon and were delighted both by the city of Antigua and this lovely hotel. Everyone was SO friendly and helpful. We strongly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 75 in Antigua
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Pasos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Pasos

Address: 9a. Calle Oriente No. 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $87 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Pasos 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important goal of this hotel is to provide each guest a pleasant and comfortable stay. The rooms are warm and inviting with fine finishes, natural detail, personalized service, offering access to stay with satisfactory sense.Hotel Los Pasos is located on the legendary Calle de Los Pasos, two blocks from the Temple of San Francisco El Grande, where he was buried, and Santo Hermano Pedro. A few minutes from the central park of Antigua Guatemala and other attractions. Hotel Los Pasos is Antigua Guatemala, an old colonial house with wide corridors sunny and colorful gardensWe have 17 beautiful rooms which are classified according to their design and size: 2 Master Suite 7 Junior Suite 8 Estandar. Each is decorated in a distinctive way taking care of every single detail to provide convenience and comfort without losing the traditional style of Antigua Guatemala.All our Suites offer the following services:Typical Breakfast• Plasma TV with cable• Wireless Internet• security box• Phone• Minibar• Special AmenitiesServices• Transfers• Tours• Laundry• Spa Services• Restaurant and Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Los Pasos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing