We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Place, Sweet Staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Nazarenos
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sweet Place, Sweet Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Please disregard older reviews that state this place is run down. It is clean and has a fresh coat of paint. The staff is SUPER kind and attentive. I am looking out the window of my room and staring at an amazing view of the volcano.

I have previously stayed at Casa Cristina, which has a great rating and is next door to here. It is not nearly as nice, the room I stayed in was actually kind of depressing. Stay here over staying there if you have a choice, despite the negative reviews this place received several years ago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mackmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The owner/staff were incredibly kind and generous. Our room was immaculate and it was the best sleep we've had in a long time (except for the church bells Sunday morning). The shower was the best we've had in all of central America! I highly recommend it for anyone who has been beat up by cheap hostels to re-energize in order to continue their travels :)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel has a lot going for it - very friendly hosts, nice courtyard, great views in some of the rooms, low price (160 quetzales / $20 USD for a private room with a great volcano view in low season), great location.

But - it just needs cleaning. The sheets and blankets had small stains and had a little smell, a cockroach climbed on the bed right when I was about to go to sleep, and under the bed looked nasty. It's not even close to the worst I've seen in Guatemala, but I wanted some clean & comfort in Antigua after travelling through the jungle and small towns. If they deep cleaned the rooms and bedding, I would have stayed more than one night.

I moved to Casa Cristina next door, and the difference was night-and-day - Casa Cristina was spotless in comparison, but 120 quetzales ($15 USD) more per night for a similar room with windows and a view (the most expensive room they had) - it was worth it to me for the cleanliness (and the rooms were more colorful and charming).

Also - no Internet at Los Nazarenos although my room did get a strong wi-fi signal from next door Fernando's Kaffee (if you use it, make sure to get coffee & breakfast there).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rackoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We spent a couple of hours checking out hotels in Antigua under US$50 per night. I think this one came in around $30 per night and it was great value, had everything we needed. It's on a quiet back street, close to the centre, restaurants, etc, and they are very friendly. Rooms are big, with private bathroom, they clean them for you, and there are common areas to hang out in as well as a rooftop terrace with basic kitchen (fridge and microwave). You do have to ring the bell most times you want to come in the front door which can be a bit annoying but they generally come quickly.

We were travelling with our 1 year old son and they were great with him. A couple of useful finds: the square next to the church on the next block has lots of pidgeons, and there's an ice-cream store across the road from the square that has a kids play area with a train set etc.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the street and it was fine, not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had moved from a much more spacious well manicured B&B to Los Nazarenos so it was a little disappointing at first. We had reserved three rooms so had two on the main floor and one on the second floor. The owner Maggy, worked very hard at accommodating our group and even moved two double beds into a room she thought would be nicer for us that only had a queen been in before. Both Maggy and her husband were very friendly and made it clear they wanted us to be happy there. It is a reasonably priced hotel and in a nice location. Just far enough away from Central Park that it was not noisy and is only a few minute walk to the Arch. It really feels like you are going back in time - the furniture looks like its from 1970. With a little work in the courtyard on the main floor they could do a lot to improve the first impressions as people walk in the door. But saying that they have definitely covered the important things ...they are friendly, it feels very safe and the price is right.

Room Tip: I personally like having a room with a window out to the streets rather than into the hallway. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discover-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I checked out 10-15 moderately priced hotels in Antigua on a scouting trip for groups and this was the lowest cost and best value for travelers who want a private bath. The average demographic for guests seemed to be older American with previous travel in Latin America. In the lobby there is an altar which hints at religious proselytizing, but this prejudice proved entirely misfounded. Like all houses converted into hotels in Antigua you should check out the room before renting because they vary in size, price, furniture, lighting, availability of electrical outlets and airiness. I recommend a room overlooking the callejon unless you believe that it is possible to avoid hearing roosters and early morning traffic noises in Antigua in moderately priced hotels. We negotiated a reasonable rate for a week. The owners are friendly and helpful. Coming home at night you have to knock at the door, but someone always arrived immediately to open the door. After several nights we were trusted with a key. The rooms are clean and basic; most of their competitors charge more for rooms that are not as desirable. A few times they were a little late in cleaning the room, but as soon as we asked it was done. Upstairs the roof has a nice view and is great for lunch. There are comfortable chairs and sofas in the U shaped covered areas overlooking the courtyard which is open at one end on the second and third floors. They don't have breakfast, but Fernando's, a great coffee shop, is 15 meters away at the corner and serves excellent Guatemalteco, American style, and fruit and granola breakfasts. Fernando's opens at 7:00 which is relatively early for Guatemala, has wifi, great coffee, and a friendly staff. Within a 5 minutes radius you can eat Guatemalteco, Mexican, American, Californian, Italian, French, German, Indian, Chinese or Spanish food. Prices vary greatly. Los Nazarenos is a two minute walk to La Merced, a beautiful church which is a landmark and has food vendors selling cheap, tasty food outside. Barbequed corn has become somewhat scarce on Antigua streets in the last few years, but you can get it on weekends at the La Merced courtyard. Los Nazarenos is a little more than 5 minute walk to El Arco, Parque Central, Bus station,local Mercado and the Mercado for Tourists. At night, coming from the Parque Central, it is better to walk to Fernando's and turn up the callejon (narrow one-way street) because the callejon is poorly lit and Los Nazarenos is almost at the end of a long block. The rest of the walk from the Parque Central is on busy, well-travelled streets. If you would rather pay $10 to $30 extra per night for everything to be in order, then don't stay here. If you want a well-located, reasonably priced hotel with friendly, honest hosts- Los Nazarenos is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Los Nazarenos is a small familiar budget hostel with a great location (very close to La Merced).
The building looks like an old colonial house, with all the rooms surrounding the central patio. Our room was big enough, with one big bed, two bedside tables, one other table and one drawer. The bathroom was small, but everything was working perfectly (good hot shower).
The hostel does not have breakfast, but there is a very nice café (Fernando´s) next door with a good and cheap breakfast and an unforgettable coffee. We did not really use the kitchen but we did use the terrace upstairs, for a nice sunbathing. Still, the best of the Los Nazarenos was the attentiveness and sympathy of the owners and staff, and we would therefore definitely go back if we were to return to Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduarda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.4 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
#52 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#47 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Nazarenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Nazarenos

Property: Hotel Los Nazarenos
Address: Callejon Camposeco # 3 | Barrio La Merced, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing