We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food”
Review of Cafe Condesa

Cafe Condesa
Ranked #3 of 15 Dessert in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Delicious, delectable, fresh, organic...everything homemade and locally sourced. Located on the Central Park of Antigua, Cafe Condesa has been serving locals, nationals and international tourists alike since 1993. It's three outdoor dining areas plus three indoor spaces provide a colonial setting in which to enjoy a meal or a snack. Breakfast is served all day long and our famous "bottomless" cup of 100% Antigua grown coffee has been a mainstay. Come early morning for breakfast, late morning for homemade chai and a muffin, lunchtime for a lovely salad and soup, late afternoon for coffee and cake, evening for a glass of wine and a quiche. A friendly waitstaff and a homey, relaxed atmosphere makes Cafe Condesa a home away from home. Three Cafe Condesa Express located around town, allow you to enjoy our many of our treats on the go.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A very popular place just in the center of Antigua. The nicely decorated patio with the sound of the fountain is the perfect place to relax while having a bite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks Marta, for taking the time to recommend us to fellow travelers! We're glad you appreciated the lovely ambience of our colonial home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    390
    106
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We ate at the Cafe Condesa a few times during our visit to Guatemala and always found the food to be very good as well as the service. The cafe is in a great location just off the main square and the gardens make for a very relaxing atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank macsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your repeated patronage and a great review. We hope you'll visit us on your next trip to the Land of Eternal Spring.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazadero, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I ate here twice while we visited Antigua. We had both almuerzo and la cena here. Both times we were comfortable, treated well, and given delicious food. although there were many other customers service was good. the atmosphere is charming with a lovely courtyard

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dolphingirl405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation and for noting that even though we were busy, you were served well and the food was delicious. We truly appreciate you and await your next visit!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to get your java”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is one of the coffee shops located in Central Park in Antigua. It is more like a coffee bar, a little smallish. Their coffee is very good though, but the place is rather utilitarian with little ambiance. However if you are in a hurry and need your java fix pronto, then Cafe Condesa is the place to go. BTW, the place is affiliated with Condesa Restaurant just next door that serves proper food and is quite nice inside. The tip: if you did like their coffee and would like to take some home, you can purchase a variety of their beans inside the restaurant at the register window (and the price is quite reasonable).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouncing_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Good Location”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a good place to try early on since its near the square. The restaurant setting itself is very nice and peaceful in an inner garden area. The menu has a lot of options. The food is pretty good but not outstanding, though we did not have a big meal there. I also thought the same of the service, good but not outstanding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdGoingSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I'm glad you found our location convenient, right on the Central Park in beautiful Antigua.

I hope you'll come back again on your next visit and try a big meal here... soup, salads, appetizers, sandwiches, quiche and an amazing array of desserts. All made on the premises from scratch from the best ingredients we can get. Farm fresh organic eggs, real butter, heavy cream.... our cakes and pies are to die for. Our drinks are delicious, too... from a whole menu of espresso drinks, chocolates, and loose infusion teas to fresh fruit smoothies and natural homemade "refrescos". We hope you'll decide we are outstanding.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Condesa also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing