We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“popular, well regarded cafe on the square...”
Review of Cafe Condesa

Cafe Condesa
Ranked #3 of 14 Dessert in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Delicious, delectable, fresh, organic...everything homemade and locally sourced. Located on the Central Park of Antigua, Cafe Condesa has been serving locals, nationals and international tourists alike since 1993. It's three outdoor dining areas plus three indoor spaces provide a colonial setting in which to enjoy a meal or a snack. Breakfast is served all day long and our famous "bottomless" cup of 100% Antigua grown coffee has been a mainstay. Come early morning for breakfast, late morning for homemade chai and a muffin, lunchtime for a lovely salad and soup, late afternoon for coffee and cake, evening for a glass of wine and a quiche. A friendly waitstaff and a homey, relaxed atmosphere makes Cafe Condesa a home away from home. Three Cafe Condesa Express located around town, allow you to enjoy our many of our treats on the go.
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
295 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“popular, well regarded cafe on the square...”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

in central Antigua, Guatemala. ate lunch and opted for Japanese cold noodles -- fresh, light and flavorful. their salads are delicious; desserts HUGE, to die for and very shareable and of course you can end it all with their coffee menu!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
What a lovely recommendation! Our central location combined with our homemade delights has been a recipe for success for the last 21 years, thank goodness! We truly appreciate your patronage.
I, and all 51 employees, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    387
    104
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, value and location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We kept coming back to Cafe Condesa for breakfast, lunch and dinner as the food was consistently reliable and good whatever we had, the cafe centrally located in a quiet garden, service was friendly and prices reasonable for the quality of food. Whatever we tried on the menu from chai tea, smoothies, eggs, soups, appetizers, salads and desserts, we were always happy with the delicious creation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely recomendation!!
I, and all 51 employees, truly appreciate your taking the time to point out all the things you liked!
Warm regards from Cafe Condesa....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming Condesa”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

While I can't speak to the full menu of Cafe Condesa as we only dropped in for a cafe con leche and tres leches, it was a wonderful respite from a busy day of walking the cobblestone streets of Antigua.
The inner courtyard was a sanctuary of calm with the water fountain and the food and cake were great value and very flavourful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlairYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for pointing out our fabulous location and how much you enjoyed coffee and dessert. Next time, we hope you'll have time for a full meal.
Warm regards from the team at Cafe Condesa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place for tourists to enjoy”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Situated close to Central Park this is great place to stop and get a snack. I wouldn't agree with others that say it is a place to relax though. The chairs are uber uncomfortable. The prices are on the high side for Antigua but it doesn't stop me from eating their guacamole. You have to try their guacamole I think it is as good as mine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We're glad you liked our guacamole and rated it right up there with yours. That's a compliment, I'm sure!

I agree... we aren't cheap, but we feel we are well worth it.... Fresh soups, salads, roasted tenderloins, baked turkeys, homemade breads and a ton of desserts from fresh cream, butter and eggs from local farms we have visited. All of our local buying plus a staff of over 50 employees makes eating in our restaurant an investment in Guatemala and we are proud of it.

We hope you'll come back on your next visit and enjoy some of the love that goes into each and every product we make!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
163 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great spot to relax”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is across from the park and offers a variety of meals at good prices. The food is consistently good and the gardens are very nice. You enter through a few different shops that offer very nice books, clothes and hand-made paper items. Service is friendly and the Sunday brunch is one of the best in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks so much, Tom, for your lovely recommedation... especially for the Sunday brunch!
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will come and relax often!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Condesa also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing