We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance”
Review of Cafe Condesa

Cafe Condesa
Ranked #2 of 15 Dessert in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Delicious, delectable, fresh, organic...everything homemade and locally sourced. Located on the Central Park of Antigua, Cafe Condesa has been serving locals, nationals and international tourists alike since 1993. It's three outdoor dining areas plus three indoor spaces provide a colonial setting in which to enjoy a meal or a snack. Breakfast is served all day long and our famous "bottomless" cup of 100% Antigua grown coffee has been a mainstay. Come early morning for breakfast, late morning for homemade chai and a muffin, lunchtime for a lovely salad and soup, late afternoon for coffee and cake, evening for a glass of wine and a quiche. A friendly waitstaff and a homey, relaxed atmosphere makes Cafe Condesa a home away from home. Three Cafe Condesa Express located around town, allow you to enjoy our many of our treats on the go.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely place. The fountain and garden makes is such a relaxing spot! the staff is very helpful and smiling. Coffe and cakes are big and delicious. We had soups and omelette for lunch, which was fine ok. Great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for recommending us! We´re glad you appreciated the fountains and gardens and we await your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 558 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Ah, one of pleasures in this life is watching Antigua open its sleepy and begin the morning. I love to sit on a bench in parque central, watching all the school kids in their uniforms walk by, snd men sweeping the sidewalks with palm frond brooms.

This is where an excellent cup of Cafe Condesa Express coffee comes into place. They are open early, so friendly, and accommodating. One of life's simple pleasures.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

just a sandwich and a beer. The sandwich was ok, but nothing special. They are conveniently located at the central square.

Thank iguana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Ouch! Three stars hurts!
I hope you'll come back next time for a spectacular sandwich---- you might try the roasted eggplant and red peppers on a home baked roll, or our freshly roasted turkey sandwich on our home backed white. Everything is made on the premises of the freshest first quality ingredients available. I'm hoping you'll give us another chance to shine!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I always come here for a cup of coffee and a dessert. I also enjoy their sandwiches and quiche.

I love the vibe of this place: so calm, relaxing, peaceful.

The servers are all so nice and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for the kudos! We love being your home away from home!!!!
Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Being right on the square, Condessa is naturally a magnet for the gringo crowd. The tipoff that the food is good, though, is that the Guatematecas seem to like it too. Decent breakfast, sandwiches, and quiche, but the desserts leave a good bit to be desired. For such a prime location the prices are actually pretty reasonable.

Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

You're right! We are popular with locals as well as tourists! For over twenty years we´ve served quality food with good service in a homey atmosphere. Since we have over 25 homemade desserts - cakes, pies, pastries and ice cream desserts, we're hoping you can find something that suits you on your next trip. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Condesa also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing