We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, simple menu”
Review of Cafe Condesa

Cafe Condesa
Ranked #3 of 15 Dessert in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Delicious, delectable, fresh, organic...everything homemade and locally sourced. Located on the Central Park of Antigua, Cafe Condesa has been serving locals, nationals and international tourists alike since 1993. It's three outdoor dining areas plus three indoor spaces provide a colonial setting in which to enjoy a meal or a snack. Breakfast is served all day long and our famous "bottomless" cup of 100% Antigua grown coffee has been a mainstay. Come early morning for breakfast, late morning for homemade chai and a muffin, lunchtime for a lovely salad and soup, late afternoon for coffee and cake, evening for a glass of wine and a quiche. A friendly waitstaff and a homey, relaxed atmosphere makes Cafe Condesa a home away from home. Three Cafe Condesa Express located around town, allow you to enjoy our many of our treats on the go.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The space is beautiful and the menu simple. It was a great place chill out and get some simple food. During a rain storm we came back and escaped from the rain with a lemonade and some dessert. Great location off park.

Thank Jgool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks so much for recommending us! Our central location makes us easy to find, although some folks have mistaken our Express Take-Out for the Café. Maybe next time you can come for breakfast, which we serve all day long.... along with our famous Antiguan coffee.
We appreciate you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Condesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 522 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a sandwich. It was okay, but nothing to write home about. The setting is pretty, it's right on the park and very easy to pick up a quick bite to eat.

Thank ntjvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Next time I hope you´ll try our yummy soup of the day, or perhaps our spicy "Xochitl" soup to accompany your sandwich and make it extraordinary! Switching the recommended bread to another of our homebaked breads--- whole wheat and unbleached white, either sliced or as a roll---- might have done the trick.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you´ll give it another try next time around. Our desserts are famous and should not be missed!

Warm regards from the Land of Eternal Spring...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stop in to eat here every time we are in Antigua. Fresh juices, great breakfast, pastries and cakes; plus the open air feel. Who could ask for more.

Staff is always friendly and you can stroll the park after your meal.

Highly recommended for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We appreciate the kudos and are very glad that we are one of the places you visit regularly! Safe travels and we hope to see you on your next visit to our lovely Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

There frap is only $2 and super yummy. I will be returning many times for it. I recommend sitting in the courtyard under the umbrella tables. We love taking people from out of town here.

Thank robin_kay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for recommending our patio seating and the cooling, yummy frappuchino! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had breakfast here twice: Black beans and scrambled eggs with tomatoes, onions, and peppers. It came with a fruit cup and a big slab of corn bread, which was really too much food, but they'll wrap it up for you to take with you. The price was reasonable, service speedy but relaxed (no hurry if you want to sit and read after breakfast). As an added bonus, you pass a travel agent's office on the way in, and they can book you a $15 shuttle back to the airport.

Thank LynnC485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Owner at Cafe Condesa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your recommendation! We´re glad you liked the breakfast! Guatemalan black beans are so delicious! It sounds like you had the "Huevos Guatemaltecos" which are always a hit.

The building - La Casa del Conde (the house of the Count) -- has a few fabulous stores to visit on your way in and out of the restaurant--- great books, homemade paper, a travel agency, and unique gifts. The house has been occupied continuously since the 17th century. We´re very fortunate to have spent the last 20 years tucked into the back as the Countess' Cafe.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you´ll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Condesa also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing